We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manor Hotel, Weekend visit”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Manor Hotel, Weekend visit”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here using a voucher from a local paper. Usual trick is to put you into the most basic room they have, if this happened here then their basic rooms aren't that bad. Comfy double bed and all the usual trimmings. There were only two downsides to the room were the sash windows and the shower screen. The sash windows being old didn't seal properly leaving a gap all the time, having said that we tend to sleep with the window open so not a real problem for us. The shower screen has a folding door facing the toilet which makes it a bit cosy, perhaps a corner screen would of been a better choice. The food was good to go along with the service in the restaurant and the bar. There was a wedding reception while we were there which had a disco, we couldn't hear this at all in our room, and only just in the bar.

Room Tip: The floors creak a bit in the main building, but you can't hear any road noise. Didn't see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We take on board your comments and will be looking at how we can reduce the gap on this sash window. Should you have the need to travel to Yeovil again then we look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    201
    119
    39
    44
See reviews for
78
236
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting in march. My room was very compact and full of old dark furniture, you opened the door and it banged into the bed! The shower was a little cramped for my liking. The room I had was in the stables on the first floor directly above the entrance which banged every time somebody entered or left!! I think they could do with a new closer.
The food however in the main building was very good. They did also have one of my favourite Rioja's. The staff in the restaurant and bar were extremely friendly and up for a bit humour, which the 10 of us kindly dished out. Good sports.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the Rioja we have on our wine list. With regards to your room then the bed had been moved so that the door hit the bed and we have therefore moved it back and instructed our Housekeeping team to ensure that the door is not hitting the bed. We have also looked at the door’s to the Old Stables and are looking at a way to ensure that the room above is undisturbed by other guests. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the team and should you have a need to stay in Yeovil again we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Manor Hotel for one night en route to Burgh Island. We were pleasantly surprised after reading a less than favorable review and found the Hotel to be very welcoming and good value for money. The restaurant offered a number of really good deals and the food was generally quite good.
Our room was nice and the only criticism we would level concerns a rather tired bathroom, but we did see from other reviews that the Hotel intends to do some refurbishment.
We would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj74London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and that you would recommend a stay. We do indeed have a decorationg plan in place as the rooms do get used so often and so do become tired. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I have just had a very enjoyable weekend in the West Country, staying at the Manor in Yeovil. Right from pre booking, when Caroline reserved room 15 for me (as recommended in previous reviews, although room wasn't particularly huge as reviewed, but the bed was and very comfortable). There were a couple of minor issues with the room on arrival, but they were quickly resolved by Ashleigh on reception and the friendly housekeeping staff. Went to see a show at the theatre (which is only 100 metres from the hotel) by the local amateur production company, which was very good. Interesting trip to the coast at West Bay and a very scary trip via a detour through Beaminster up a steep hill in a hail storm! All meals at the hotel were served with a smile and enthusiasm by all staff, paticularly Josh at breakfast, who managed to keep everthing sorted single handedly! Meals were served quickly and were hot and tasty. Can't ask for more. Definitely recommended for a weekend or longer.

Room Tip: We booked room 15 on the strength of reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you would recommend us and that you enjoyed the local production at the theatre. As stated in a previous response, regarding the same dates you stayed, we will be investigating why it appeared that there was only Josh on duty. On a weekend we do ensure that there are a minimum of 2 team members for breakfast. We are however pleased to hear that the meals were served quickly and were hot and tasty. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent the room was spacious and very clean. All the staff were very friendly helpful and very efficient. All our meals from breakfast to evening meal was cooked to perfection very tasty and excellent value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait for a return visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Overall the stay was good. Staff at reception and breakfast were very good. Food was good value.

My rather picky Improvements that could be made. (Note that the experience was a good one) The iron was past its best and the ironing board needs replacement in room 42. Breakfast on Sunday morning was a little too busy for a single member of staff to handle though they were polite and working their socks off. Our waitress on the Saturday evening was not terribly customer friendly and it would be nice to have some smiles from the housekeeping team.

Would visit again :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanoneill1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience and do take your comments on board. We are in the process of looking at all of the irons & iron boards and will these will be replaced as required. With regards to the team then we will be speaking to the individuals involved and we are sorry that you did not find them friendly. On the Sunday morning in question then there were 2 team members on duty and so we will be investigating why it would have only appeared to be one. Once again we would like to thank you for your comments as without them we are unable to improve our offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall very good afternoon & evening. Food good. Staff very friendly & helpful. Lovely venue with nice garden for photos. Stayed overnight & room nice & clean with good shower. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Manor and do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing