We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting the YEO in Yeovil!”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Reviewed December 26, 2012

What a bonus to find the Manor as a stop-over on our way to the West Country. We were made to feel very welcome and our large double room with a Queen-size bed had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The menu choice was varied and the food quality excellent, along with a reasonably priced wine list. Although checkout is 11.00am, breakfast is served until midday, so we were able to have a relaxing morning and leave feeling refreshed and well fed for the journey ahead. Our thanks to the Management and staff and we hope to return again soon

Room Tip: Rooms 14, 15 and 16 have the biggest double beds but can be noisy if there is a function in the even...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. It was a pleasure to read your headline and that you had such a great stay. We will be sure to share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for The Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 566 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Have stayed at the Manor a few times, but under the current Manager it is a really good place to stay. Rooms are not spacious but clean and the bed was very good. Breakfast was a real hit with a good choice and the wide range of hot choices were delivered promptly, fresh and with a smile.
All the staff we met were helpful even though they were busy with the pre-Christmas rush. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PensionerWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your recent review and your kind words. We are really pleased to hear that you are enjoying your visits to The Manor and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Manor for two nights from 21st December 2012, we found this hotel to be comfortable, we stayed in room 59 which was in the old stable block which is through the main hotel to the rear of the property. The room was well equipped and nice double bed, work serface with drawers under, wardrobe, plenty of power plugs etc. The bathrom was okay with a bath and shower over, regret the shower was fed via the hot and cold taps and the pressure from the shower was very poor and due to the shape of the bath it was difficult to get in and out (I have mobility problems). The breakfast was served in the hotels restaurent and was first class with both continental and full English. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed at the Manor but would have enjoyed a decent shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old stable block for a quiets nights sleep
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOLLYJACK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and do acknowledge the comments regarding the shower. We will be getting this looked at as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor or one of our other Old English Inns soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is lovely and the staff are all welcoming and helpful. During my stay they could not do enough to help and always with a cheery smile. The managers are absolute angels. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and extremely clean. Food was lovely and very reasonably priced. A two minute walk into town centre or stay in and enjoy the hotel by just relaxing in the bar area. Will use again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor. We are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and felt welcomed & looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Convenient for the shops with parking by meter, £1 per hour up to 3 hours, cost refunded with meal. Pleasant atmosphere, we noticed it is frequented by business women, coffee and cake deal. There is a meal deal of £9.99 for two, with restricted menu of course... e.g. fish and chips
Toilets are clean, dining room modern.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch experience at The Manor. The 2 for £9.95 main meal offer is having a change of available dishes in January and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we stayed in the stable part of the hotel, we were a family party, 3 couples & a single lady in a wheel chair. the only problem I found was that although we were on the ground floor, the bath sides were to high to get into for the person in the wheel chair & also it was a struggle for the older couple. That said the hotel was very comfortable & the staff were fantastic & very helpfull, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyboy297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Whilst The Manor has ground floor rooms in the Old Stables it does currently lack any disabled rooms and we are sorry to hear of the struggle you had with the bath. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor or one of our other Old English Inns soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Massive room and bathroom flat screen TV Small bar great for reading the paper and relaxing whilst the other half watches Sky sports.Cup of coffee and cake £2.95.breakfast choice of continental and or cooked.Evening meals good value for money 2 meals for £9.95 menu available.Staff all friendly and helpful particularly Josh and Sinita who are just amazing and the Restaurant runs like clockwork.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are full of character
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanseaWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay and have shared your review with Josh and Sinita who are over the moon with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor soon. Kind Regards Damian & Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Preston Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
248 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing