We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff but Tired Building...”
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff but Tired Building...”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night at the hotel (Saturday) friendly staff and great building (Old Coaching Inn) used very much by local people.

Basic, clean accomodation, fairly priced for what you get. B&B includes Continental Breakfast which is Cereal, Toast, Tea or Coffee but you can upgrade to Full English for £2.50 which did look good.

There is limited parking in a very small courtyard, possibly enough room for 8 cars, where guests cars park nose to tail on a first come first serve basis.

The decor is a bit shabby and tired, and access into and within the building is not disabled friendly as there are many steps and stairs, and the corridors feel a little like a rabbit warren.

Would we stay for a night or 2 again...yes, good value for money, great location and friendly atmosphere...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    16
    17
    20
See reviews for
21
14
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten many times at this carvery and in the main the food and service has been good, but today I had reason to complain that there where 3 hairs in my food, the young lady serving took it back to the kitchen and returned to say it was stubble from the pork, I said that I did not accept that, because crackling stubble would be quit course, and this was not course in any way and all 3 hairs where over 1 inch long, then some one came from the kitchen and argued with me in front of other costumers that as we had eaten pork there was no way it could have come from anywhere else, I do find this behaviour rude and unacceptable. This was a celebration birthday meal that was spoiled by staff who do not know how to interact with customers. Mrs N.B Stone

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

What can I say I am a contractor and having worked in yeovil for a few months I believe this to be the best value for money place to stay it far from the Ritz's but it's far from the price it's great value for money the rooms are clean the bedding is clean and there is parking I will be staying again would recommend

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Rooms lacked cleanliness although it was obvious that some effort had been put in. The worst bit was tge fact that there were young girls there at the bar who came up the corridors after midnight to make a lot of noise and arguing! You turn up for breakfast and there's a notice saying "wait here until you are welcomed to your table" but silly enough there'll be no one there to welcome you. Had to forgo breakfast as no one turned up to welcome me and was running late for work. The lady manager Michelle or Cheryl cant remember name was extremely nice and very helpful for sure!
The floor carpets on the corridor was in a state and seriously foul smelling!! Its bad overall and ssorry wouldn't stay again or recommend unless these Issues have been thoroughly addressed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I do think you've been a little unkind as the rooms are very clean. I have shown your review to the chambermaids and they are both distraught.
The hall carpet certainly doesn't smell at all. I really do accept constructive critism but it's a not really fair to exaggerate.
I can only apologise for the other noisy guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in pubs from Florida to Beijing and this is by far the worst establishment I have ever had the misfortune to stumble across! The staff couldn't even look me in the eye. I feel this is due to the fact they had the audacity to charge 50 hard earned pounds to stay in their dump! I would rather sleep in a one man tent! To top it all off the billiards table was a shambles and it's only use was to hold drinks! The food was poor!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradleywright8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your stay, obviously I have looked into your complaint and have no record of you staying here. I have also checked with the staff and they have no recollection of your stay. Also we do not have a billiard table so I am a little confused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on the Forest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed over for 3 nights on 23rd August. We were visiting family for a special occasion, the journey took over 7hrs so you can imagine I was extremely tired by the time we arrived there. I have eaten at the carvery several times before and cant fault it. I rang ahead to query parking and the lady was very helpful and polite. Once we arrived there the service was faultless, very happy and polite. I have read numerous reviews on this hotel and can honestly say that we had a lovely 3 days there and for those with negative remarks what do you want for £50 per night the Ritz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! See you in October all going well Paula & Richie Room 4 :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula3292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recently stayed at The Mermaid Hotel. Lovely old building in an excellent location. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Wanted to try the food in the evening but appeared that the restaurant was closed. The room was clean, although the bathroom had black mold over the ceiling, the shower doors did not close properly and the bathroom light didn't work. I was also very disappointed with the continental breakfast, very little choice of cereals and the bread for toast was two days out of date. This put me off having the full breakfast, although I note the other comments about food and again the restaurant area was clean. This hotel has all the makings of being a tip top place to stay, but just needs a little more attention to detail regarding maintenance and the breakfast choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Property: Mermaid Hotel
Address: 3 High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Yeovil offers old world charm combined with every modern facility. Originally a fifteenth century coaching inn, The Mermaid Hotel retains its character, especially in the spacious bars and split level restaurant. 14 comfortable bedrooms all centrally heated, with colour television and refreshment facilities. Our attractive licensed restaurant in Yeovil offers A la carte menus with an excellent selection of hot or cold snacks and meals, readily available in our open plan bar is situated in the heart of Somerset, ideal for holidays in Somerset area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing