We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a breath of fresh air for Yeovil”
Review of Pico - CLOSED

Pico
Price range: $3 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: An informal, relaxed and friendly BYO restaurant serving Italian Flats - like pizza but thinner and crispier, pasta, salads etc. The tables are all chalkboards, with chalk provided, and therefore Pico is ideal for keeping youngsters and the big kids entertained! It is available for private hire any day or evening, hen parties, stag parties or just any party!!, Subject to availability, and can also be booked for children's parties.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a breath of fresh air for Yeovil”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Love the fact we have something a little bit different in Yeovil now in the form of a BYO restaurant.
We came here for my birthday and as a lively bunch of 16 we were welcomed and served promptly and in a friendly manner.
The food is basic, with a short concise menu, but should please everyone, and is very fairly priced. I had lasagne which was scrumptious (an awful lot of cheese on top though!), and most of our party had the pizzas, all super thin bases, my favourite.
To start we had the baked Camembert which we were advised was a sharer for two, and it was delicious and HUGE! Will know next time that it could go three or even four ways if you want to squeeze a dessert in.
We didn't get to sample desserts as a surprise birthday cake was brought. Felt a bit guilty as that meant the whole party sat an ate cake instead of pud, but it was handled very well by the staff.
We plan to go again, but not such a large group. The place dies get very loud, but this is probably down to everyone getting merry for cheap on their own booze.
The only slight gripes were that I looked on tripadvisor, PICO's website (not really a website!) and on their Facebook page before calling to book the table. None of these mentioned the corkage price, not even the friendly informative guy on the phone. As it is £2.50 per head worked out ok, but was a bit disappointed as didn't know to expect it until we were seated and given our menus.
The only thing is that we were told our drinks could be chilled while we ate, I assume this is what the array of ice buckets open the way to the loo were for, but we weren't offered a single one.
Oh and the loo... Just one toilet, unisex, on a busy Saturday night = queues!!
On the whole, a great experience though, and fab value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank libbymoo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good set-up, great staff, great value”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Based in Yeovil for a couple of nights to visit West Country friends, we stumbled across Pico during an early evening recce of places to eat.
Liked the bring you own idea, liked the clean and simple layout with visible kitchen, liked the welcome. Loved the wafer thin pizza with generous toppings - some of the options on offer are a bit odd to my eye but there were no eyebrows raised at a mix and match approach so don't be shy about asking for what you want. The menu is kept reasonably short and simple, but everything we tried was top notch although we never made it to a dessert. The pizza is outstanding and great value, the sharing platter starter suffered a little by comparison and to my mind was a little overpriced compared to the rest of the menu.
We usually play the field wherever we are - but here we promptly booked for a second night instead of looking for somewhere different, because the first experience was so impressive and the second trip backed that up.
The bare walls and floors make for a lively atmosphere which might not suit a romantic dinner, but for an enjoyable meal it take some beating. Wish there was something like this closer to home - Yeovil should count its blessings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great ambience and charming staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff and food make this a great place to eat, we frequent here often and always enjoy - thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Recipe”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service and great value for money. Bring your own drink is just ideal.

Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lnfx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A fantastic find in yeovil”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited pico on a Friday evening and the place was packed

The atmosphere was brilliant such a buzz. I was in a party of 6 we ordered the mixed platter to start with the size of the portion was huge and very tasty

For main we each had either pizza or lasagne. Again cooked to perfection and the service 5 star far too much to eat we ended up having it boxed to take away

The best thing about this restaurant apart from fab service and food was that you bring your own booze and its even put in the fridge so your wine stays lovely and cold

The South African manager s customer service is brilliant and his whole team is o polite professional and accommodating

If you ever eat out in yeovil you are mad to pass this little gem bye

Fantastic value for money restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pico also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing