We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find”
Review of Pen Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pen Mill Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A recent refurb here has resulted in some lovely rooms. My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights and everything was great. Pub food very tasty and lots of options for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and we would most certainly stay here again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you Steven for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is always nice to get such a high score from such a seasoned traveler!
We look forward to seeing again.

Regards

Jon Palmer, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    26
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
58
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We travelled down to Yeovil from Middlesbrough to watch the end of the season football match and after the 5 hour journey to get there, we were greeted by a warm welcome by all the staff which was definitely needed. They were always on hand to help with anything that you needed and never showed reluctance for anything you asked for - my perfect staff. When we arrived, they gave us lots of information about the town itself and descriptions of good places to visit in the area which was really helpful!

At breakfast (the food was superb), this friendly welcoming was continuous as the staff often chatted to us during this time which was very relaxing and made us feel very much at home. I guess this won't be to everyone's taste, but I found that this was a lovely touch as it shows that the staff show an interest in the guests.

When we got to the room, I was shocked at the quality (we stayed in room 1). It was very spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The added touches were fantastic and made the place really cosy. To top the room off, it was spotless, and I mean spotless. Due to the impression we got when walking through the door, I thought that there HAD to be a fault somewhere as it was just perfect. Well I was very wrong! No dust ANYWHERE. The only problem we had in the room was hearing the noisy traffic late at night but in all honestly, that would have been our fault due to us having the window open as it was really warm. However, to make the room better, there needs to be a slight paint job on the windows as they are peeling a bit but this is no big deal at all.

To top off this wonderful experience at the Pen Mill, I would like to give a massive thank you to all the staff for making us feel very comfortable and relaxed during our stay. The hotel is by far the cheapest for the quality of what you get, especially with breakfast included in the price! I can't find a single flaw in your hotel and we were very sad to leave. It has honestly been the best hotel I've ever stayed at and because of this, we're definitely coming back. See you again in the summer!

Best wishes

Room Tip: There are dogs lounging about in the bar area, especially on a night so if you plan to dine at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Becca, I must thank you for writing such a complimentary and detailed review of our hotel, I must reciprocate with a worthwhile response!
Sadly Yeovil won't be a Championship club next season but hopefully that won't stop you visiting us again?
We have taken on board your comments about noise in the rooms if windows are left open and have this afternoon ordered fans for all of the rooms so that you won't have to have your windows open!
To ease peoples fears a little further on noise our 'front facing' rooms have all had highly effective secondary glazing units fitted to all front facing windows to alleviate even further any issues with noise!
On your visit you did indeed meet our two infamous and very popular pub dogs Molly and Whizzer! Again to try and alleviate any fears on hygiene (even though I'm sure you meant no harm) they are both 'fully' vaccinated and both attend 'Pampered Pouches Dog Grooming' on a monthly basis, hair wash, blow dry, hair cut, full body brush and clipped nails!!!, and are very clean dogs. At no time do they go behind the bar or go into the kitchen, to both their disappointment!!!!!
Once again we look forward to seeing you both very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, rooms were lovely & very clean. Breakfast was very good, as was the beer in the hotel bar. (Shame we couldn't get a pint on our first night as the bar was shut & they wouldn't serve us even though we were residents!)
We booked direct with the hotel & couldn't fault the service we received, if we are back in the area we would stay again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Many thanks Audrey for your kind words about our hotel and indeed we hope to see you again soon.
I trust you had a pleasant journey back to Scotland?
With regards to being unable to be served a drink on one of your nights, whilst I must apologise for this but unfortunately it is a common misconception that 'hotel guests' can be served after time has been called! Our licence is not a 24hr licence! We do this so we do not have potentially 'rowdy' drinkers in the bar until the early hours disturbing hotel guests in the rooms. I hope this clears things up for you?
Once again many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here overnight on Business to sum this hotel/pub up:
Great Hotel, Great Food, Great Beer - Highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DCa5ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Manager at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to help promote our family business and thank you for your kind comments.

Regards

Jon Palmer, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A one night stay and what a lovely Hotel the Pen Mill is. A warm welcome from everyone and a lovely room that is comfy and spacious with nice extra touches. The breakfast is one of the best and served hot. I would recommend it and will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you Paula for a very favorable review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed over for a single night business trip. What a great place to stay. The staff could not have been more polite and helpful throughout. The rooms are extremely well finished and to be honest, this is rare but i never even left the hotel. Everything was catered for. A definite if i am ever in the area again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Great comments Grant, thank you.
Business customer's are obviously very important to us and so your comments are a reassurance we are doing things right,

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have no issue with saying I have high standards and am particular about most things. Staying at The Pen Mill Hotel exceeded all of my expectations! Very well thought out rooms with all of those 'little extras' you would love to make life a bit easier. It was nice to hear about items sourced from local businesses and how much consideration was taken to ensure guests stayed in comfort. The rooms are exceptionally clean (yes! I did a dust test!!) and the beds super comfy. We didn't eat there as we had a party to go to, but other guests in the bar had said their meals were very nice. We did have breakfast though - yum! Everything you could want and more - oops! If I had to stay in that area again, it would have to take somewhere special (maybe The Savoy opening a branch in Yeovil??!!) to turn my eye. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Since our refurbishment back in February we are confident in attracting all customer's, even the fussy ones!!!!!!
Hopefully if you stay with us again we'll be able to tempt you to eat in the restaurant and add another tick to the review box!!!!!!
We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Property: Pen Mill Hotel
Address: Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular Yeovil Hotel Bar & Restaurant. Located on the main A30 midway between London & Cornwall. The beautiful Ham Stone building was built in the 1850's & is now owned by husband & wife, Jon & Sarah. The Hotel rooms have just undergone a £200,000 refurbishment scheme, which has definitely put the small family run hotel on the map. All 8 of the beautiful guestrooms are slightly individual with King, Twin or Superking sized beds, 32" Panasonic Smart televisions, ensuite bathrooms, & perfectly designed quaint features.To compliment the stunning rooms, the well established bar & restaurant offers a relaxed setting to enjoy a perfectly kept pint, wonderful glass of wine & traditionally cooked local food. The ever popular Sunday Carvery is a highlight. Served from 12pm until around 6/7pm, Three Somerset Meats are offered alongside our infamous Homemade Yorkshire Puddings which would put Aunt Bessie to shame!, Beautifully roasted Maris Piper potatoes, Honey parsnips, & large selection of locally supplied vegetables including cauliflower cheese plus, gluten free gravy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pen Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mill Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing