We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steak, nice family atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen Mill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good steak, nice family atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've been in here a few times for a meal, and it's very good. Good range of dishes, would please most. Staff behind bar and waiting staff are polite, attentive and well turned out. Also nice that you can take your dog in the bar area, which is a pleasant change from most pubs in Yeovil!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4DRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
54
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I go here often on a Sunday for a carvery lunch and have always been very happy and very full up in need of a nap after! Lovely homemade food, attentive friendly staff and nice place. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaDennis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food here can vary. The bar food is nice, but the carvery isnt so nice. However the food is hot and is a reasonable price. They are very friendly here and take bookings in advance which is always good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammythesmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Called in 8.15pm for something to eat after a very long,tiring day, barman was very funny and I instantly perked up.
We had a lovely table. Nice relaxed atmosphere. The staff were all brilliant and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble, the carvery was delicious. We will definately be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had an overnight stay at the hotel with dinner bed and breakfast, the dinner was fantastic and real good quality at a very good price, the breakfast was much the same and the service of all staff at all times was faultless. The rooms were poor, mould around the baths / showers, tiles missing and cracked, signs of damp and mildew on the walls, cobwebs throughout the rooms and communal areas. The beds where very cheap and uncomfortable, the window did not shut properly and could hear a lot of outside road noise.

In my opinion, a refurbishment in the overnight facilities and the establishment would be 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012myreview4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Called in for a quick meal on way home from holiday.we had lovely tasty carvery which was just like homemade.staff were very friendly & helpfully.we would definitely return fab!.Kids also enjoyed their meal but would have liked beer garden to run around in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Penn Mill Hotel has eight rooms above a large bar and restaurant area. It was built in the early 1800’s as a coaching inn between London and Cornwall and has a massive car park which is free for patrons. The building has idiosyncrasies such as the impossibility of having a dedicated hotel reception area; guests check in by going to the bar and introducing themselves. From that point you realise that the people who own and run the Penn Mill are hospitality professionals who employ fantastic staff. The key to your room also fits the front door so you are free to come and go as you please.

There are four en-suite rooms and another four which share two bathrooms, my room was en-suite. The room was spotlessly clean, serviced daily and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had a couple of cracked tiles which I suppose would cost points in an AA inspection but the bath was deep, hot water gushed out at the rate expected of far superior hotels and there are lovely touches like the provision of very high quality soaps and conditioner.

Food at the Penn Mill is extraordinarily good. Their website says that everything is sourced locally and in my opinion the quality is evident. Breakfast is cooked to order and I was very impressed by the use of a PIR detector to notify staff whenever somebody enters the dining room. They don’t do fancy things like Omelette Arnold Bennett or Eggs Benedict but if you enjoy a simple ‘English’ breakfast of top-quality bacon, egg and sausage you won’t be disappointed; cereals and juice are self-served. The restaurant has become something of a destination venue in recent years and it was busy each evening throughout my stay. I ate there once and it was superb in every respect; the menu was diverse and my co-diners were equally delighted with their choices.

Overall, I gained the impression that the owners have personal experience of the small touches that make the difference between OK hotels and great ones and, wherever possible, have applied them to their own operation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: En-suite is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beluga_on_toast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
6.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.0 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Property: Pen Mill Hotel
Address: Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular Yeovil Hotel Bar & Restaurant. Located on the main A30 midway between London & Cornwall. The beautiful Ham Stone building was built in the 1850's & is now owned by husband & wife, Jon & Sarah. The Hotel rooms have just undergone a £200,000 refurbishment scheme, which has definitely put the small family run hotel on the map. All 8 of the beautiful guestrooms are slightly individual with King, Twin or Superking sized beds, 32" Panasonic Smart televisions, ensuite bathrooms, & perfectly designed quaint features.To compliment the stunning rooms, the well established bar & restaurant offers a relaxed setting to enjoy a perfectly kept pint, wonderful glass of wine & traditionally cooked local food. The ever popular Sunday Carvery is a highlight. Served from 12pm until around 6/7pm, Three Somerset Meats are offered alongside our infamous Homemade Yorkshire Puddings which would put Aunt Bessie to shame!, Beautifully roasted Maris Piper potatoes, Honey parsnips, & large selection of locally supplied vegetables including cauliflower cheese plus, gluten free gravy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Orbitz so you can book your Pen Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mill Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing