We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Globe & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globe & Crown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is really a pub with rooms. It is cheap but not particularly cheerful. The decor in the bar is not matched in the bedrooms which are shabby. The service is adequate. The pub clientele were loud, foul mouthed and blocked the entrance which is a smoking area. Breakfast was the best thing about the stay and the waitress was actually friendly. The reception was not staffed at any time during our stay.

It was not overpriced and I suppose you get what you pay for.

There is however a good range of nearby restaurants where customers are valued.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    48
    58
    41
    73
See reviews for
45
107
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night a couple of days ago. I did notice a few negative reviews on here prior to booking, but decided to go with it anyway. We are both glad that we dd. For the money paid, the experience was really good, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the need arose. Checking in at the bar was simple enough, and we were made to feel quite welcome. The room, although a little worn was warm and comfortable (we slept really well so no complaints). Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, with good quality and variety on offer. All I can really mark the place down on was the dodgy shower in the room, which rained down either molten lava or arctic spring water (and kept falling off its bracket)...plenty of expletives from Mrs P was enough to make me avoid it altogether! Otherwise, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Maybe best avoid room 1 (read my review about the shower)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were not disappointed. Having read some of the reviews regarding noise and smoking among other negative comments we were slightly apprehensive but did not experience any problems at all. Checking in (at the bar) was quick, efficient and friendly which set the tone for our stay. Our room was outside alongside an alley leading to the car park and was more than adequate for us - quiet, warm and an acceptable en-suite. Breakfast on both mornings was good, well cooked and plentiful.As has been said the hotel is five minutes walk from the main shopping and if you wish to go further afield a bus stop immediately outside. We felt our stay was good value for many and would not hesitate to stay there again..

Room Tip: Room was pre-allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldodw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel was what you expect for the money, room was ok. We had booked a family room for 3 people, went down and had breakfast in the morning, nobody said anything, but when checking out we were told breakfast was only for 2 people and we had to pay £6 to cover it. The girl on the desk had poor customer service skills and if it had been handled differently there wouldnt have been as much of an issue. Very disappointed after having stayed before. Wont be going back now.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairlygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Bargain prices perfect location for the shops, the staff are very helpful a and friendly. The both times I've stayed rooms are nice with wooden beams on the ceilings I've stayed in room 28 and room 31! The only thing I missed this time was a iron and iron board which I may of missed! There were plenty of towels rooms were both clean bathrooms a little basic but clean can't complain about anything for the price! No doubt il be back thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

For the price this hotel charges I don't see how anyone could complain. The room was a short walk outside at the side of the property up a slight hill, fortunately it was a dry night, and was a little dated but was comfortable, clean and adequate for a one night stay. The bathroom again was dated but contained everything required and the shower had a lot of power. Staff were friendly and helpful and willing to help you enjoy your stay. Breakfast was served in a small restaurant at the rear of the hotel and again was decent with plenty of choice. Some would want five star service and room, but for £44 B&B you aren't going to get that, and for what they charge I could not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ideally situated walking distance to all Twn Centre ammenities. Free parking at the rear of the Hotel also a bonus. Building and rooms in particular are a little tired but very clean and tidy. The staff in the hotel and pub/restaurant were very friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. Price for a family room B7B was excellent would reccomend the hotel for a short stay in planning a visit to yeovil or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonJ114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#12 of 13 in Yeovil
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe & Crown

Property: Globe & Crown
Address: 73 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QF, England (Formerly Globetrotters)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Globe & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe & Crown Hotel Yeovil
Globe And Crown
Globe & Crown Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing