We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick visit”
Review of Globe & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Globe & Crown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A quick visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in room 30 which was up the lane by the hotel. It involved going up quite a few stairs and there was no lift, but that wasn't a problem. It was a shame that I could not get internet access in my room and had to sit in the bar/restaurant for that. On the other hand, internet was free, so I shouldn't complain too loudly!

The room was clean, very warm, had good tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. It was also centrally located, but took me a while to find due to the weird numbering on South Street - if asking your way, mention that it used to be called Globetrotters! I had no problem sleeping.

The menu was very limited - I would recommend eating somewhere else unless you are tired, although they did say that it was limited due to it being outside of school season, I think. I had scampi and chips, and it was good, but if I had been less tired, I might have preferred to go somewhere else. You can't put the restaurant bill to your room.

Breakfast is served only from 7am-9am and I couldn't see any alarm clock facilities in the room, so you might like to remember to bring your alarm clock if you are a late sleeper like me. Check out is by 10am.

I enjoyed the stay, just one night, the staff was friendly and amenable. It wasn't outstanding, but it was extremely good value for money and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfcfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    55
    38
    65
See reviews for
41
103
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Good value for money. I booked the globe and crown for a night as it was in an ideal location for me and was cheap. I was a bit apprehensive as some of the reviews wasn't that good. Well the room I was in (number 4) was clean and adequate. The bed was comfy and the room, however small was nice and warm. Only downside was that my room was next to the road and a bus stop is situated directly outside the window so the noise was a bit of a problem.
The breakfast was great, a full English, and as much toast etc you wanted.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again however a night maybe two would be the maximum.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyxr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this inn for one nght only on a bed-and-breakfast basis. If you want somewhere cheap to stay this is it. But as usual you get what you pay for. We were put in Room 1 which is actually for the disabled - so you had plenty of space, but the cleaners had overdone the bleach unfortunately - the smell was very strong. The breakfast was OK but it was help yourself to toast, beverages etc. Because we arrived early afternoon we decided to have their lunchtime carvery. It was poor value for money, not enough choice. However, the staff in the bar were all very friendly.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at Globe on 17th and 18th November 2012,Room average size , clean good shower clean towels each day, quiet part of town.Stayed in attic room.A bit chilly early morning in room, found bed uncomfortable ( but like my own bed). Owners very friendly food good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast good but small.

To have breakfast you had to go out of hotel outside part and enter the pub.
Good location plenty of places to eat

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

had a good stay new mangers where good looked after me well will stay again good food well priced room was clean staff was very helpful great place to stay for town not to far to walk nice old building well looked good bar well stocked

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kez1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

stay away from this place stopped in room 3, dreadful, tv red and green lines running across it, bathroom disgusting bath had been repaired badly toilet difficult to flush lights not working woken at 5.30 am by someone ramming the bottle dustbin into the side wall which shook the wall nobody on reception in the evening or the morning bar staff just handed keys over without saying anything food in the bar disgusting and overpriced did not bother with breakfast after that. obviously the chain relaxinnz do not take any notice of this place. will recommend firm takes this hotel off their list of places to stay in yeovil

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#12 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe & Crown

Property: Globe & Crown
Address: 73 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QF, England (Formerly Globetrotters)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Globe & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe & Crown Hotel Yeovil
Globe And Crown
Globe & Crown Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing