We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value for money.”
Review of Globe & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Globe & Crown
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Have just returned from the Globe and Crown. The check in at the bar was speedy and efficient and conducted by a very friendly and helpful lady who also gave me information about breakfast times and directions to my room. The building is a bit of a maze with corridors going off in different directions but the rooms are fairly well indicated. There are quite a few stairs though, with additional steps up and down in places and no obvious lift so if you have trouble with stairs this may be worth considering. However, I believe there were some ground floor rooms so it may be worth requesting these if stairs might be a problem. The hotel is quite old and the room I was in is probably due for a lick of paint soon as it is looking a bit tired but apart from a big wodge of dust I found behind the TV when trying to work out how to turn it on everything seemed clean, and especially the bedding and towels. Toiletries were provided and although there was central heating in the room, there was also an electric fan heater provided if it got chilly. The hotel is located on a road which runs parallel to the main shopping street so it is very convenient for a wide range of shops and cafes etc., including a lot of the chain stores such as Marks and Spencers, WH Smith etc as well as lots of individual shops, bus stops, taxi rank, post office etc. It is also about a 3 minute walk to a massive Tesco Superstore which is open 24 hours - ideal if you forget your toothbrush or have a snack attack at 3 a.m! If the hotel car park is full, there is a public car park a few yards away which is free of charge from 6 pm - 8 am. This may actually be a better option for elderly visitors as the hotel car park is up a very steep hill so quite steep to clamber up and equally steep to clamber back down - especially with luggage. Although this hotel is also a pub, I did not see or hear any drunken behaviour or loud music as reported elsewhere and felt quite happy staying there as a single female. There is generally not much traffic noise in the evening or at night, but the road sweeper trucks start fairly early (around 7 am I think) and there are some early morning deliveries to various businesses nearby by lorries so ideal if you need an early morning alarm call! All in all, I thought this hotel offered reasonable comfort and quality and excellent value for money and I would stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 322 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

The staff were friendly and very helpful, the bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent - you were invited to help yourself to, not only cereal, toast and juices but also an impressive selection of items for a full cooked breakfast. Well placed centrally for Yeovil and excellent value!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here last minute due to a double booking at another hotel! The room we stayed in could have been nice, it had some lovely features but was very dirty! The cleaners either need to be sacked or given a kick up the bottom. I don't think the skirting had been cleaned for years. On a positive note the bed was clean & comfy & we both had a good sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMungles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place is frankly shocking - we rocked up in the car about 6PM to find swarms of drunken surly looking regulars outside the pub/hotel entrance.
Getting inside things didn’t get any better, no reception to speak of - you have to check in @ the bar, with some amateur chav MC giving it both barrels over the mic to happy hardcore music communication with the staff was limited but they were at least helpful.
I requested a quiet room away from the chaos and was given a room in an annex area to the side of the pub.
The room was small and had frankly seen much better days - it bore no resemblance whatsoever to the attractive looking rooms feature on the website.
We went out for dinner and returned about 10PM - by that time things were really kicking off - load music from the pub, drunks from the establishment fighting outside and then by the time this subsided gone midnight all the drunks from the pub came back to their rooms for a good old session of door banging and further load music. The noise from other guests subsided by about 4:30AM just in time for the various refuse lorries (there must of been at least 3 separate collections) to start at about 6AM banging and crashing bins and bottle banks outside our window. The bed was old, lumpy ,soft and sqeaky. The pillow (there was only one each) was so thin you had to fold it 3 times just to get some support
The net result of all the above issues is that my girlfriend and I didn’t get a winks sleep.
It was also noted that the PAT testing (portable appliance testing) for the electrical items in room had expired some time ago - 2006 to be exact – apart from sleep & accommodation quality clearly health & safety is not a top priority for this establishment either.
Do yourself a favour and find some place else to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Arrived about 8pm to find an assortment of noisy and intimidating clientele cluttering up the front of the pub area. The parking is behind the hotel and woefully inadequate, accessed via a very narrow passage to where there are less than a dozen spaces for a hotel with more than a dozen rooms. There are private car parks all around with notices re clamping or fining so that was a worry when we were forced to abandon the car in the doctors surgery due to tiredness and no knowledge of the available parking in the town. The plus side was that the room, although small, was clean, had a comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer and tv. In the morning we meandered into breakfast which was in the bar area and you just helped yourself. A full selection of cereals and fruit to add to the full english that was piping hot and served in a buffet style. I would return to this hotel just for the fact that its reasonably priced, clean and they are not in your face - the downside is the parking though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascotsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was a planned overnighter for the long trek over to Cornwall, and hence was intended to be for one-night only. The unfortunate part was that that night happened to be the start of a summer weekend, and as the hotel is attached to the pub, the noise from some of the happy patrons did tend to filter in through the open window. The bathroom was rather small and the room was quite bare. It was similar in price to a basic BnB, but was disappointing in comparison. The morning fry-up was alright and the bar staff are quite friendly but that were the only positives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night only and trust me........ that was long enough! The hotel was ugly, unwelcoming, old fashioned and in need of a thorough clean and upgrade. As was the same with the staff if I'm to be absolutely honest, although, credit where it's due, they were very polite and as much as they could be, attentive to our needs. The photos on the RELAXINNZ web site are obviously way way back in the past as even the pictures of the bar and eating area are now a pretentious gregarious site for sore eyes. Cooked breakfast was a certain quality that one can only abtain from an offside road cafe/burger bar and I bet that's an insult to all you burger van people!!!!! To add insult to injury, the hotel were advertising the rooms on their reception window for considerably less than what we had paid via the internet.......... A convenient location is just about all this hotel has going for it......!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in the area.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.3 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preston Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe & Crown

Address: 73 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QF, England (Formerly Globetrotters)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range: $60 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Globe & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe & Crown Hotel Yeovil
Globe And Crown
Globe & Crown Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing