We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch Carvery and friendly staff”
Review of PEN MILL HOTEL

PEN MILL HOTEL
Ranked #13 of 185 Restaurants in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 13 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch Carvery and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday carvery lunch. Food was well cooked and other meals ordered from menu were equally as good. Despite being very busy staff were welcoming and friendly and really helpful. We were a party of 6 all with different diets and tastes but nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKMANX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    69
    21
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Poor service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We waited nearly an hour for our food even though we had booked, service was poor no attention to detail, when we asked for bread for the table we were given two pieces for ten people!
Not very impressed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schoolinglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Find, Good Value For Money”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having always drove past this Hotel, we thought we'd stop off for a drink as it was so hot. Inside was very spacious and nice modern seating, this was also a dog friendly pub which was nice to see. There was also numerous seating arrangements outside, Having browsed through the lunchtime menu we decided to opt for the jacket potatoe range which was absolutely fantastic, my mum had camembert and bacon with side salad and coleslaw, and I opted for the good old slimming world favourite cheese and beans with side salad.

The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

So a big thumbs up to The Pen Mill !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quick service, food quality not very good”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for Sunday carvery, roast potatoes like rocks, Possibly new potatoes used!! Could not eat them. Some of the veg was over cooked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooty1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple of times for food. The food has always been cooked well and generally tasting better than average.
Service has always been very good and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imagine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PEN MILL HOTEL also viewed

 
Yeovil, Somerset
 

Been to PEN MILL HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing