We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique with extras, at it's very best! Night before family wedding.”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #5 of 27 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walderslade Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Boutique with extras, at it's very best! Night before family wedding.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed 1 night in the Tower Suite, which we chose as we needed an overnight stay before my partner's cousin's wedding in Martock less than 10 miles away. We also were taking 10 punnets of Kentish strawberries, as everyone was taking a dish in this outdoor wedding with a difference, leaving us with the problem of keeping them cold and needing to hull and wash them before the wedding! It worked out so well, we had a small kitchen area on the ground floor of the suite with fridge, microwave, sink, kettle, a good variety of hot drink sachets, biscuits etc, plates, glasses, bowls, corkscrew, cutlery. We did take a pizza to cook but were unable to as just a microwave so huge apologies to Isobel for leaving it behind in the fridge! We ate at nearby Coopers Mill (a Greene King pub down the hill and round the corner), which was lovely (see separate review). The Tower suite has everything you need for a romantic break, upstairs is a huge contemporary bedroom, tiled drying area with fluffy robes, upright radiator for drying their towels and long full length mirror, the bath was oval and the biggest I've seen & I couldn't reach over the width to reach the taps to run it, I had to get my partner to do that. In the corner of the bath shelf was a huge vase of stargazer lilies in full bloom, the smell!! My favourite flowers, so thanks. The bath surround has a selection of shampoo/conditioner/bath salts/moisturiser & soap. It also has small lights around bath. This was only 4-5ft from the huge Queen sized bed. TV upstairs and downstairs, which had a table and chairs and a corner sofa. There was a shower room/loo, shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower & by the sink. Victoria sandwich cake on arrival, breakfast was continental but in addition to tea or coffee we had juice, cereal, Danish and chose a bacon buttie for an extra £3. Would definitely stay again. We loved it totally. Oh, and we'd forgotten Fathers Day cards, so 5pm Friday walked 2 mins to The Card Factory and got one each to post. Staff so lovely and couldn't do enough, you should be proud of yourselves!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CostaArmandLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    51
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
92
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of an overnight stop en route to Cornwall last week. Essex was too long a journey for my elderly mother...I had booked by phone and requested downstairs twin room but on arrival it was a double!! This was not a problem to the young lady who checked us in...she got cracking and split the beds into two!
Beautiful rooms was little chilly...again no problem - she put the thermostat on in the main hotel for us.
The beds were comfy...pillows always difficult to please everyone -as there was not a "wardrobe" only a hanging rail - there were no spares...I am sure we could have got them from reception area however its a bit late when you're in your pj's!
A very varied continental breakfast was on offer (full English if you wanted to pay extra) in a slightly cramped space - only two tables and then a bar stool type area - fortunately we got one of the tables as Mum would not have managed a bar stool!
Private, secure parking...gastro type eateries within close walk however if it's just a pub meal with helpful staff the pub bang opposite the hotel is great...cheap and cheerful.
Overall it was a good overnight stay venue.

Room Tip: The downstairs twin/dbl has a walk in wet room so great for less able bodied?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBSouthendonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked to stay one night before our daughter's wedding and the room size is huge (as are all of the rooms), the double bed is extremely large and the TV is massive! The whole decor and the ensuite is very new, well looked after and extremely expensively fitted out! When we checked in the staff were fantastic; complementary beautiful cake was brought by them to the room to refresh us and the selection of hot drinks in the room is wonderful. In addition there are microwave facilities to heat up your own food with cutlery and china to use on each floor for the guests to use. The continental breakfast is included in the price and not only do you get good real coffee, fresh fruit and cereal, there are cold meats, cheeses and cakes as well. There is off street parking available and you can walk to the shops (including Tesco) within two minutes because though the Hotel location is on a side road it is extremely close to the centre of the nice part of Yeovil. Whilst staying you do not need to use your car to go shopping, drinking or eating!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however, there is also one room which has two floors and a massive bath as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a wonderful little place. Parking right outside and as we checked in we were asked if we would like a bit of cake brought to our room. Absolutely delicious chocolate and banana loaf arrived shortly after we got to our room. The room was spacious, comfy and modern, a really luxury but homely feel. Loved the decor, definitely inspiration for home! Would definitly return if we are in the area again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others, great location. We had breakfast in the morning which was freshly cooked and delicious. A really lovely hotel with polite staff and immaculatly clean and great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_A_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We (me and my two sons) visted here in April, the Keep is nicely done out in a modern theme, with good attention to detail. The Tower suite in which we stayed is on two levels with a large bath in the main bedroom, a very good sized room, more an apartment. A small kitchenette makes it stayable for a few days and a great base for Somerset and, of course, the beautiful coast (Lyme Regis is a must). It's just a short walk into Yeovil centre where there are many (generic) restaurants. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyRedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at The Keep along with three other couples, all friends with whom we have shared many holidays at home and abroad. When we ultimately found The Keep, having been led round Yeovil's impenetrable one-way system by a most helpful pair of policemen in their car, we found everything there very satisfactory. The welcome from the owner was friendly and accompanied by a welcome pot of tea. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all the facilities we required including a splendid shower. We had the continental breakfasts and found that there was an attractive variety of food and drinks. Cooked breakfasts were available at an extra cost. This was our first experience of what is called a 'sleep boutique' and we would try it again.

Room Tip: Don,t worry about being placed in a room overlooking the street. Ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just one night with our son, room spacious and nicely decorated. All beds very comfortable. Lovely bathroom. Continental breakfast was more than enough; great selection too. We didn't use kitchen facilities but if you had young children this would be a big help. Easy to walk to town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
5.8 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keep 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only, continental Breakfast included or a traditional Full English, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Keep Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing