We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel Ever”
Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Worst Hotel Ever”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm not writing this as a joke, I wish it was. The service in this place is definitely a joke. I have never been treated so badly as I was here, it was disgusting. It was so bad it compelled me to write a review where I have never felt the need before. From the second I walked in the door, after having to call a mobile number to be let in, I was made to feel unwelcome. The man who met me seemed angry at my being there at all, and as a lone female traveller I did my best to coax him to be civil but he was having none of it. I had obviously dragged him out against his will. I had arrived at nine o'clock but he behaved like it was three in the morning. I agreed to take my fellow travelers' key to her room and let her in as she would be arriving later, this seemed to cheer him slightly. My room was in the main house and FREEZING cold, there was no extra heating and a cold night ensued. There was no hot water and I resorted to boiling a kettle to heat my feet. Also, the large windows had no curtains and the wind whistled through them. Why did I not call the grumpy angry man to ask for a heater I hear you ask? I felt intimidated by him and had no wish to see him again that night. I wore all my clothes to bed and had an awful nights' sleep. Next morning I was prepared to forget about the freezing room and I thought at least my company has booked a cooked breakfast. They had, but this is where all hell let loose. All pretence of being civil was dropped by this awful, awful man. He argued about everything - insisted no breakfast had been booked, the broken radiator (nothing wrong with it, and if the room was cold, what do you expect, its minus 5 outside). AT NO POINT DID HE APOLOGISE OR SAY SORRY. After I told him I had never been spoken to like this by anybody, never mind someone in Hotel customer services, he started telling me how he hated the place and I had to stop him there. I was upset by this point, I had had enough. He then grudgingly offered me a cooked breakfast but for obvious reasons I declined and left. All in all, a truly terrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearytraveller137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
44
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friends and i stayed at The Preston Hotel on the 4th of December. It was an Absolute bargain. The rooms were lovely and spacious, clean and well decorated. There was a lovely homely atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating letting us check in early and check out late as we had a funeral to attend. The breakfast was delicious and the bar was great. It was an all round brilliant experience and i would highly recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area. Thank you Preston Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel advertises a bar and restaurant services, they are not available on Tuesdays despite being advertised. They do not tell you at time of checking in, you only find out when you turn up for food & a beer.
I would not have booked in had I known this, and a 7 pm it's not easy to start trying to find accommodation !
No offer of reduction in room rates either.
Booking.com ignore complaint emails as well.

DON'T BOOK IN HERE!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A good small independent hotel; just out of the town centre. Stayed in one of the annex rooms, it was large well appointed and convenient for business travel. Had a good evening meal in the restaurant. Would certainly go back again if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As I say, the hotel staff we met were very friendly and helpful but the room was disappointing. There were no curtains at the windows, just venetian blinds which were fine during the day but let a lot of light in at night.The new bathroom looked lovely but the door was old and ill fitting. It didn't lock and kept blowing open! One of the pipes leaked, quite badly, and we reported this as soon as we noticed it but it was several hours before anyone came. We were out most of that day and returned to the room at about 10.30pm to find that there was still a slight leak and the towel we had put down was still there and had not been replaced. The room had not been cleaned, tea/coffee etc not replenished and bins not emptied. I have never stayed in a hotel before where the rooms are not serviced daily and I'm afraid this would stop me staying there again or recommending the hotel.
On a more positive note, the bar was pleasant, the breakfast was good and, as i said earlier, the staff were great. However, two nights was enough.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amil383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights,we had problems finding a triple room so we were stuck with the Preston.Our room was in the attic, the glass had fallen out from the tiny attic window, it was smelly and mouldy the tiny stairs leading to the attic made it nearly impossible with luggage.I awoke on the first night with drops of rain of my face, the roof leaked! Can't understand how this room passed any council inspection! We were given another room the second night, out the back, much better.The younger manager there was very sorry for the inconvenience! Not good enough!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room at the back, I think they call it the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katemeriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can't tell you about the rooms as I never got to see mine, 320 miles, booking confirmation in hand. "We don't have your booking or a rooms, sorry"

OK the guy did look truly shocked and apologetic and tried to find me a room elsewhere in the town centre.

Can't say it looked nice, what I saw, I will not even try again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saidtheguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
557 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing