We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im-Preston”
Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Im-Preston”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A good small independent hotel; just out of the town centre. Stayed in one of the annex rooms, it was large well appointed and convenient for business travel. Had a good evening meal in the restaurant. Would certainly go back again if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
44
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As I say, the hotel staff we met were very friendly and helpful but the room was disappointing. There were no curtains at the windows, just venetian blinds which were fine during the day but let a lot of light in at night.The new bathroom looked lovely but the door was old and ill fitting. It didn't lock and kept blowing open! One of the pipes leaked, quite badly, and we reported this as soon as we noticed it but it was several hours before anyone came. We were out most of that day and returned to the room at about 10.30pm to find that there was still a slight leak and the towel we had put down was still there and had not been replaced. The room had not been cleaned, tea/coffee etc not replenished and bins not emptied. I have never stayed in a hotel before where the rooms are not serviced daily and I'm afraid this would stop me staying there again or recommending the hotel.
On a more positive note, the bar was pleasant, the breakfast was good and, as i said earlier, the staff were great. However, two nights was enough.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amil383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights,we had problems finding a triple room so we were stuck with the Preston.Our room was in the attic, the glass had fallen out from the tiny attic window, it was smelly and mouldy the tiny stairs leading to the attic made it nearly impossible with luggage.I awoke on the first night with drops of rain of my face, the roof leaked! Can't understand how this room passed any council inspection! We were given another room the second night, out the back, much better.The younger manager there was very sorry for the inconvenience! Not good enough!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room at the back, I think they call it the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katemeriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can't tell you about the rooms as I never got to see mine, 320 miles, booking confirmation in hand. "We don't have your booking or a rooms, sorry"

OK the guy did look truly shocked and apologetic and tried to find me a room elsewhere in the town centre.

Can't say it looked nice, what I saw, I will not even try again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saidtheguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Needs a good lick of paint and some ltc - a good polish and spruce up

Not for me I'm afraid - basic and area not brilliant

And no food in the evening !!! But advised a shop near by????

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farndonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, we just needed a place to stay overnight on our trip around England, just to have some rest and relax from driving.
The receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly, but we expected a better standard of the accommodation. Because we got a room in a different building, which is behind the one you can see on the website/photos. This "official" building seems nice from outside and the interiors are stylish (the reception and the restaurant/dinning room), so I suppose the rooms there are also better than in the other building (where we stayed).
The second (newer? additional?) building is only ground floor, it is on the other side of the carpark. Our room was quite dark and damp and we were not very happy about the cleanliness, especially of the shower/bathroom and carpet in the room. But the beds were comfortable, the room well equipped and we had a good sleep there.
Also the breakfast was ok - croissants, cereals, juice... And the first day we had a dinner, the daily special, which was really delicius, but quite expensive.
If you want to stay for one or two nights, it's definately tolerable, probably more than that :-)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the building you see on the website, might be better (lighter, dryer) th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist4ever91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The rooms are disgusting, in need of a good clean and revamp !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrosahoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing