We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing”
Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel/motel was very disappointing. No staff available on a Sunday after 3pm. Dirty and outdated rooms. Shower wasn't cleaned. The Hotel was more interested in serving their Sunday meal instead of tending to their guests and rooms. The only good thing was their breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
44
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at the Preston Hotel last weekend, our initial thought were we weren't too sure but looks can be deceiving. The restaurant / bar area was lovely and the chap called Matt was excellent, we couldn't fault him. He went out of his way to accommodate us and our two year old son.
The accommodation was fine and beds comfortable.
We would stay over again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulle, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had booked this hotel for a stop off and took great pains to find a pet friendly hotel which this claimed to be. We booked through late rooms and no where did it say there would be a charge for pets and it's website said it was pet friendly.

We were later called back to say that our cat would incur a "non refundable deposit" of £40! Which is extortionate for a one night stay at a rather tatty and average looking hotel. A deposit is something that you are supposed to have the opportunity to get back and the staff member that called was not at all pleasant about it. Needless to say, we cancelled.

Now it's back to the drawing board and we are very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayemarie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

a colleague of mine booked pretty much all of the hotel rooms (except 2 i believe) for a recent football away staff trip. lucy on reception was extremly helpful, and a credit to the hotel - she made it!! the bar area is clean and cosy, but, the rooms!!! - the outside chalet type rooms are much more modern than inside the actual hotel - but very basic. the inside rooms are very very dated and in need of drastic modernisation. its a cheap and cheerful hotel. the showers should be renamed drips though, very poor!!! the hotel was adequate for what we needed, our only complaint was the cleanliness. they need a new cleaner! outside chalets didnt seem too bad but the inside rooms were filthy. this is what would stop us from staying again. the rooms were tidy but obviously hadnt had a proper clean for a long time, especially the bathrooms, none were spotless but one in particular was disgusting. if your just after a bed for the night this hotel is fine. we just hope they have given it a good clean for if / when you visit!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1978manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I booked a surprise meal for my partner's 50th birthday for 24 people at The Preston. The staff could not have been more helpful, asking how I wanted the table layout etc. We had a fixed menu, everyone pre-ordered their meals. The food all came out together and on time - it was absolutely delicious. Everyone I spoke to said how much they enjoyed the excellent food. The staff were very efficient and friendly and that all added to a brilliant evening. I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I went to the hotel with a party of 40 guests for a leaving party. It was a fixed menu with a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts. A mixture of each was had by all, and there was not one complaint that I heard. The service was quick and efficient. The staff were tidy and friendly. The price was fixed at £20 per head and my food was wonderful. There were plenty of potatoes and veg, and not one mix-up. A very good night out. I will visit again and have no problems recomending this eatery.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorpeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks while working in the area. Room walls where needing a coat of paint, smelled, carpets dirty, had to hang a towel for a curtain in the bathroom as there was no blind. The blind in the bedroom was broken. The basin had a large chip on the front lip that had been glued back in, the plug was the wrong size for the basin! Drains had a horrid smell, and they advertise a power shower...... in reality it was a hand held shower standing in a slippery bath with a dribble of water coming out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legacy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing