We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Tamburino

Tamburino
Ranked #2 of 187 Restaurants in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tamburino's first restaurant was opened in Yeovil on the 27th February 2005 bringing the town a true taste of Italy with our wonderful traditional cuisine and vibrant atmosphere.Owner Domenico Taravella is from Sicily, where passion runs deep. No more so than the passion for food and hospitality. In fact, Domenico began his restaurant career at the tender age of 14 - not surprising, because as he says, "Food and drink are part of the culture of my country. We embrace them at a very young age"
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had to wait 5 minutes to be seated even though we were booked in but i think that just goes to show the popularity of the place, the owner was running around moving tables and chairs and trying to get unbooked people in as best he could. the food was very tasty, i particularly liked my breaded tallegio cheese starter. its averagely priced for an Italian ristorante. i also particularly liked the atmosphere of the place with many chatty happy people in the restaurant, decent music and decor, the owner also gets you to participate in the tambourine accompanied songs for peoples birthdays and hen nights etc. service was pretty good too, i told the owner how i thought my experience was fantastico as i left! we will be going back! see you soon domenico!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LOE997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    142
    43
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Amazing food and great service. Prices were very good for the quality of the food. Wish we lived closer so we could visit more often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's okay. If a little overhyped”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went here in February 2014, I had been a couple of years before that, but still found that though this place has atmosphere and good staff, being packed in like cattle and the food being a little underwhelming I couldn't understand the price being asked. A side bowl of chips had about 15-20 fries in it which my friend couldn't help his face showing his disappointment. There's nothing particularly wrong with this venue, certainly in Yeovil it's a good option, but I wish you weren't so crammed in and the food lived up to the pricing. Great atmosphere and staff, so you can still have a good night here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibberdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Domenecos and his team make this the best restaurant in Yeovil for not only food but continental atmosphere. Enjoy

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIANA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable authentic Italian meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Local website listed Ben & Jerry's, Prezzo and Ask as Italian restaurants in Yeovil, so we weren't sure what to expect from Tamburino. However, the atmosphere and food were truly Italian. A great evening out, well looked after by the staff and manager, who was happy to ask our opinions of the food and talk to us about our holidays in Italy. Food was delicious and plentiful and the wine list had some excellent choices. Price was about what we would expect for this level of quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamburino also viewed

 

Been to Tamburino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing