We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”

Ask Italian - Yeovil
Ranked #21 of 185 Restaurants in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Yeovil is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Yeovil menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We called in for supper after watching the Christmas lights being turned on and wished we hadn't bothered!
The restaurant was cold and the service was slow. One of the chefs was eating in full view of the diners! the starters arrived seperately The calamares was overdone and nearly burnt and the garlic bread with cheese had so little cheese and garlic on it that we sent it back- we did get another one with more cheese and garlic on and that was ok. The mixed starter was very small and the crostini very dry and tasteless.
The ravioli with seafood was again a very meagre portion and the penne with spicy meatball very oily and unpleasant.
The waitress was very sweet and apologetic and did fetch the manager for us who again was very apologetic and didn't charge for the main courses but we will not be going back there again in a hurry!
The menu is very dull and disappointing as well. Don't bother!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cat945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    97
    50
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somerset, uk
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Service & food good - but pricey”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I ate for the first time at the Yeovil Ask as we were in the area. We arrived at 5pm on a Sunday evening and were the only diners and of course seated very promptly. Whilst we were there another 4 tables were filled so no problem getting a table and definitely dont need to book.
We ordered the antipasti to share for starters and pizza and pasta for our main course.
We are not big drinkers so opted for a small glass of wine and iced tap water, I was driving so only drank water
The starter arrived and we were very disappointed but the small selection on the board which include 2 slices of palma ham/2 slices of salami/1 small mozzarella and 3 pieces of bread. This is probably one of the poorest offerings of a share board we have experienced.
Both our main courses were fine.
The bill we thought was quite expensive for what we ate - just over £40.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food was good but noise defeated us.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Meeting up with family on their visit to Yeovil, table for six but the noise was overpowering and gave every body headaches. Unable to hold a conversation.
Food was good but service on the slow side.
Would visit again but only on a quiet night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taurus42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Liked food, staff run off feet so did not have time for you. Lovely restaurant clean and reasonable prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoastersSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent birthday meal!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had been organising a surprise birthday meal for best friend, they were happy to help me from the very beginning, the service was wonderful our every need catered for! As I work in a local restaurant I know how demanding large parties can be, the waiter was extremely enthusiastic and obviously enjoyed his job, the waitress who seemed to have only recently joined the ask team done her upmost to keep us happy and was so polite and was a joy to have serving us! I have been to ask multiple of times and have never had this type of service! The team they have now are a pleasure and will defiantly be going back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopkinsonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Yeovil also viewed

 
Ilchester, Yeovil
 

Been to Ask Italian - Yeovil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing