We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”

Pizza Express - Ashford
Ranked #75 of 217 Restaurants in Ashford
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been twice now with my son to this restaurant. On both visits we were made very welcome by the staff and on our second visit the waiter Christopher was very helpful and attentive. The food was first class and was reasonably priced. We both had a very enjoyable time and will happilly eat there again. I would recommend this restaurant to all who like the real Italian pizza experiance. Better than any Pizza Hut!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    51
    34
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appalling Service!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We waited over an hour to get any food, and a further 20 minutes for a friends main course to arrive after we had all finished our meals, and she then had to eat alone.

I agree with other comments that it seems badly organised and potentially under staffed in the kitchen.

A really disappointing evening that resulted in one of the waitresses, Natalie, directly insulting one of our friends by saying to her colleague, "leave it, she isn't worth it" after we voiced our concerns.

Its a shame, but it seems this restaurant has gone down hill with its service.

The assistant manager did agree to give us our meals for free, and only pay for drinks, however this didn't stop our evening from being ruined.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mowly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lack of organisation”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I am a regular of PE and can hardly ever fault their chains, but sadly Ashford is badly organised. The team are super friendly and apologetic, but it’s not a large restaurant and the organisation needs looking at. Our waitress forgot 2 drinks orders, and my children never received their bambinocino. The pizzas were not super hot as the cheese had started to harden, but we were very hungry after a long day of travelling and activities. The new taleggio starter was very tasty and the kid’s meals were great. But the meal took over 2 hours to complete because of waiting between courses. The manager apologised and I cannot fault her personality or that of her team, but they seemed rushed off their feet, and this is when mistakes happen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallulah_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent, as usual”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I had lunch on Saturday in Ashford Pizza Express and once again food was excellent.
Service was good and the waitress was very knowledgable of Pizza contents and new their new Menu's.
Sadly the glass of wine was maybe corked but it was not a problem and was changed instantly, the second glass was the same so maybe it was a personal choice. However my husband did not drink it and because of that it was taken off the bill. This gesture was very much appreciated.

Would always eat here when in Ashford.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food or service”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my friend love this restaurant but the service isn't quite here. The food is amazing and the building is fantastic but the staff couldn't care less. Every time we go. Suppose for good food, you might have to suffer for service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SP91Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express - Ashford also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express - Ashford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing