We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kindling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Huge bed
Just add bubbles!
The Plough Inn  150 yards away!
Our local  Cosy as could be
Great range of local beers
Stalisfield Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nar20050
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Wonderful stay at the cottage. Lovely welcome and was very kind seeing us around the areas. Would come back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had an amazing stay here.
Perfect location and beautiful surroundings.
Cottage is decorated to a very high standard and is very beautiful.
Owners were very friendly and welcoming and was lovely to have some fresh bread, eggs and jam.
We Will defiantly be coming back here for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tremendou...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfectly romantic garden location”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a week here, and enjoyed the whole experience from the moment we arrived to a very friendly welcome, to the moment we left. The welcome pack of basics was just right, including a small pot of home-made jam, so good we brought it with us (hope that's OK Frank!)
Everything about this property is to the highest standard of finish, it is roomy, light, well-equipped and beautifully located in a splendid garden packed with mature flowers and shrubs, The cottage is screened from the main house by a very pretty hedge. Nearby are two pubs who also do food, and we enjoyed walking to both for evening meals. It is approached by single lane roads which all adds to the feeling of seclusion. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and setting of the property
Liked least: Meeting a bus on the single track approach road....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location
Liked least: nothing we disliked enough to comment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katie1Bri...
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable,well equipped cottage!”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Kindling cottage for last week. We found the cottage to be very well equipped with all mod cons and more!. Everything that we needed was provided to make our stay very comfortable.
The cottage has been prepared to a high standard, and a lovely basket of goodies were waiting for us, along with fresh flowers.
The owners Frank and Chrissie were on hand to greet us when we arrived and showed us around the property. We were left to enjoy our holiday, which we did, despite the rain and thunderstorms!!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F
2 reviews
“Fantastic break!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Kindling Cottage was the perfect escape for the Bank Holiday weekend! The cottage is luxurious, beautifully decorated and designed, and well equipped. It was the ideal place to relax and the peaceful countryside location makes you feel miles away from the daily hustle. Chrissie and Frank were very friendly & helpful and the welcoming gifts were much appreciated. The only down point was that we couldn't stay longer! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrieand...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is an amazing cottage. Beautiful location, very relaxed and surrounded by gorgeous countryside. The Cottage is decorated to a very high spec, the owners Frank and Chrissie were so accommodating, very friendly and could not do enough for us. They have thought of everything, there is nothing missing. It is immaculate, spotlessly clean ( I am a clean freak !!!! ) and you really feel at home. I can honestly say it is the BEST self catering accommodation that we have ever stayed in. Thank you so much

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Hi Carrie and Domi Thanks for the very kind words It's just a shame you didn't have more time to kick back and relax Chrissie and I would like to thank you for how tidy you left everything and look forward to your next flying visit Kind regards Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing