We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kindling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Huge bed
Just add bubbles!
The Plough Inn  150 yards away!
Our local  Cosy as could be
Great range of local beers
Stalisfield Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
McMoo30
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Took my girlfriend away over the Easter weekend, as soon as we arrived at Kindling cottage we were made to feel very welcome.
The cottage is lovely, beautifully furnished and surrounded by peaceful countryside. It has everything you need for your stay. The finishing touches were lovely and shows that Frank and Chrissie have gone that little bit extra to make it special for you.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Has everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuffleMum...
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here on the eve of my wedding and on our wedding night.
Frank and Christine greeted us and showed us around their beautiful cottage.
The kitchen had everything we needed and more, to the point I was able to decorate my wedding cake last minute (as you do) as there was all I needed here.
Bathroom especially was stunning, the bath, the sink, the fixtures and everything has been chosen carefully and compliment the style of the cottage.
Bed was amazingly comfortable, lots of storage and I was certainly able to relax and contemplate my impending nuptials with a relaxing bath, some champagne on my own the night before.
Lovely basket of breads and homemade jams given, and it is a short walk to the Plough Inn which is where we had our reception and lunch the day after, which was lovely.
Can honestly say the nicest place I have ever stayed.
Stunning.

Date of stay: February 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I couldn't stay here longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange196...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing couples gettaway, luxurious cottage”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, newly fitted out making your stay really comfortable and relaxing. Lovely to walk around on the underfloor heating in the downstairs of the cottage. Upstairs is a lovely beamed spacious bedroom with access to the decking area below. The bathroom is lovely to, with walk in shower and slipper bath. There was also the nice touch of a welcome basket containing a few useful essentials, and milk/butter in the fridge. Kitchen was well equipped and there were a selection of books/DVD's available.
Warm welcome from the owner on arrival. There are two nice pubs nearby that serve good food. Overall we had an excellent stay and worthy of the 5 star rating! We'll definitely be returning.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the place for a short break.
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked about the cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie M
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the weekend here to mark a special occasion. We were looking for somewhere to relax and enjoy the countryside and this cottage really delivered. Wonderful welcome - immaculate accommodation and lovely location. Had a delicious meal at The Plough on the Friday night (amazing venison Wellington) this place is only a 3 minute walk - all in all 5 star and from the looks of things will have to get in early to book again!

Date of stay: January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscann...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay, friendly people beautiful house lovely bed and bathroom heated flooring.... It goes on! Booking again asap!!

Date of stay: December 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond A
Waddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country Life Hideaway”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stay in holiday cottages in Kent on a regular basis and Kindling Cottage was by far the best we have stayed in. It was decorated in beautiful colours just like in a design magazine. It was also the most comfortable cottage we have stayed in with all the bits and pieces needed to make it home from home. Crissie and Frank are the perfect hosts and will always be available to help if needed. A short walk from the cottage is the Plough Pub which is really friendly and serves great food. My friend said it was the best fish and chips he had ever had. Just outside the pub is a bus stop which I took to Faversham for a day out. Also it is fairly close to Canterbury and Ashford. So all in all a lovely five day holiday so thank you Crissie and Frank.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Road to the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION IN LOVELY LOCATION”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Kindling Cottage for 7 nights. The Accommodation is basically brand new and is well equipped with a large multi fuel hob (gas)/oven (electric), dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer. The accommodation is very spacious for 2 people. The bedroom is lovely with a very comfortable large bed and a flat screen TV. The bathroom features a lovely wet room type shower area and a free standing bath. There is also an ample supply of towels. Chrissie and Frank have created something special here to allow people to have a great comfortable and cosy time. There are plenty of footpaths leading from Stalisfield and the countryside is simply stunning. There is a lovely pub/restaurant in the village called the the Plough Inn, which is about a 3 - 5 minute walk from Kindling Cottage. We ate there 4 nights and had one lunch there. The food was absolutely lovely. All in all we will certainly consider returning to Kindling Cottage. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing