We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Eurostar and good customer service”
Review of Cornerstone B&B

Cornerstone B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornerstone B&B
Ranked #17 of 29 Ashford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I stayed one night here with my partner as she was getting the 6.30 Eurostar the next morning. We chose this B and B because it was cheapish and because of its proximity to the Eurostar - it's about a 10 min walk but a bit longer if you have luggage. We were pleasantly surprised by this place - it is small but that's because it's an old building. I found the staff really easy to get on with and really helpful - one of the staff quite happily made a sandwich for my partner in place of breakfast as she was leaving so early in the morning. Our room was big enough, but we got the biggest room I think, it had a double and a single as well as a private bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the room was a bit stuffy but this is the case with old building unfortunately.
This is not a posh b and b but it was good for the price and the staff were lovely even though it was apparent that they were quite tired from long shifts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeymagic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

I've stayed in some excellent B&B in the past, this just wasn't one of them. On checking in I climbed the chairs to my single bed room. When I opened my room door the stuffiness hit me. No window, but there was a skylight, which couldn’t be opened. The room was the size of a walk-in closet I had in other hotels / house rents. I was so unimpressed. It was so hot and stuffy. I went down to complain. I pressed the bell, no one came. I pressed the bell again, no one came. So I resigned myself to a bad night. To make matters worse the bed creaked like anything. It was so noisy. What also annoyed me was the shared bathroom was larger than my room, and had windows. Hmm... I wasn’t impressed. I left the B&B just after arriving and sat on a bench in the high street for 90 minutes, just to avoid sitting in the hotel room. I left before 7am, so didn’t get to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I book this bed and breakfast with my collegues
frendly staff
very clean location super
excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed for 1 night in this B & B and would not recommend to anyone. The room cleanliness was disgusting.......the sheets can't have been changed as there were biscuit crumbs in the bed, the room was very dusty with cobwebs in the corner and behind the curtain was a used clingfilm wrapper with remains of food inside!
No way was I going to try the breakfast so can't comment on that!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

Wonderful small B&B within walking distance of international train station to France, or to other England cities. Very friendly staff, clean, spacious, comfortable rooms. Shared baths also spacious. Breakfast a bit marginal compared to other B&Bs we stayed in in England. Would definately recommend to others and stay again.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank OregonJmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We had been in Canterbury and booked accomodation about 30 mins away in ashford. Situated right in the heart of ashford in the mall, the Cornerstone was very welcoming. Lovely cosy stairs at the back of cafe take you to tudor styled room. Very friendly staff and very accomodating. We travelled with a 2 month old baby and cot and facilities were 1st rate, a perfect example of B & B.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiesheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlberticoIco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashford hotels
0.3 mi away
Hayesbank B&B Ashford
Hayesbank B&B Ashford
#12 of 29 in Ashford
140 reviews
3 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,387 reviews
5.5 mi away
Five Bells Inn Brabourne
Five Bells Inn Brabourne
#1 of 2 in Brabourne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Elvey Farm
Elvey Farm
#1 of 3 in Pluckley
435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone B&B

Address: 25A High Street, Ashford TN24 8TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range: $54 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cornerstone B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most attractive listed property suited on the high street in the centre of the old market town Ashford Kent. It is a friendly quality bed and breakfast establishment with affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornerstone B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone B&B Ashford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing