We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible for a family holiday”
Review of Cornerstone B&B

Cornerstone B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornerstone B&B
Ranked #19 of 29 Ashford B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible for a family holiday”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We arrived for a two day stay and were surprised to find that only one room had an en suite bathroom. The room we stayed in was not secure, as the door was not strong. The room was unclean and the bedding was not clean. We found that the staff did not clean the room each day nor did they chane towels and for £60 a night this was definitely not value for money. In addition the hotel is located in a noisy location and we did not get a good nights sleep. Although the staff were friendly we were not happy that our room keys were left out in the reception for anyone to come in and take them to break into our room. Overall the room/accommodation was not secure or clean and not worth the money we paid. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmistry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
12
29
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Germany,

We highly recommend this place.
We stayed in July for couple of days. We had an excellent time. The manager was always available, friendly and happy to assist us and she offered us a nice continental breakfast on a little and clean balcony. The room was clean and tidy with TV and Internet. Definitely we will return.
Thank you.
Central location, close to the Ashford International Station

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy22Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

when we arrived the manger was not happy not pleasent to greet you she showed us our room which was very clean and tidy went to use our bathroom and the light didnt work when i went down and told her she said she knew it didnt i asked could she change the bulb and she said no this ruined our stay and we left the next day instead of staying another night which we had planned and i will not be returning as she is very rude and not suited to a hotel/b&b anvironment

Room Tip: dont go there mangervery arrogant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuyangli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashford hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Dorothy and Tony own and run this gorgeaus B&B in Sale, Manchester. It is absolutely fabous, great attention, veeery clean, friendly and peaceful enviroment plus you feel like at home! I can't really say how greatful I am I stayed here as I recently move to England form Mexico and having this friendly attention to start my new life here was really helpful.

Tasty breakfast! and just acroos the street there is a convenience store.

Maria J Moya

Room Tip: Excellent location, close to a bus stop and tram
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This small and quite hidden b&b was perfect for us. We spent the New Year's Eve in Ashford, and as we arrived quite late, I am afraid that we delayed the palns of the landlord, who was very very very gentle.

The room was small and comfy, very cosy. The ration price/quality is, in my opinion, perfect.

The breakfast is to be taken just a few yards away from the B&B, at Gorge, where is the satff is so friendly.

The location of the B&B couldn't be more central and near the access' way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Manager was very welcoming, although a shirt and tie wouldnt go a miss! Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the food in the gorge was top notch. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.

Would definatley come back here again, so i've booked a week in November :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Me and my husband spent 4 days in this historical, very charming accomodation. The service was excellent, staff very friendly and the room was serviced daily. The room was newly renovated/decorated, with spotless bedding and towels and a comfortable bed. The location is in the centre of town, and whilst my husband was on business trips in daytime, I visited all the pretty shops and took photos of the remarkable buildings and cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEwalkers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashford hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashford
Travelodge Ashford
#5 of 8 in Ashford
445 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone B&B

Property: Cornerstone B&B
Address: 25A High Street, Ashford TN24 8TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cornerstone B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most attractive listed property suited on the high street in the centre of the old market town Ashford Kent. It is a friendly quality bed and breakfast establishment with affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornerstone B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone B&B Ashford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing