We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but overpriced and disappointing food”
Review of Chiquito

Chiquito
Ranked #83 of 217 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service, but overpriced and disappointing food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The service was great; out waiter was warm and helpful — despite this, the menu was overpriced and the food itself the wrong side of average ... that's not to say it was poor quality, quite the contrary, it was hot and fresh — just unpleasant.

On a side note I watched a member of staff, whom I'd deemed to be the Manager (certainly senior), knock clean cutlery off an empty table in the sparsely occupied part of the restaurant in which we were sat — before promptly picking them up off the floor and arranging once again neatly on the table, ready for the next lucky diners. **Nice**

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenLeahDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    84
    67
    40
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“over priced and rude”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Wouldnt return here. Added items to our bill and charged us for it. Food portions small and bland. Lacks atmosphere.
Has the potential for something good

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siany007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant having not been to a Chiquitos for some considerable time.
Our waitress was absolutely delightful, the food was surprisingly good, the atmosphere was great and after being there for about 20minutes very busy (no doubt a film had just finished next door).
The staff actually appeared to be enjoying their work too which does make a difference.
The only reason I have not given it a score of 5 was that my wife was given a glass covered in lipstick!
As this had at least two chances of being picked up (once at the bar and second by the waitress) I feel that is unforgivable.
But the waitress was very apologetic and we still enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karnak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“mexican time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

diner of lunch at chiquito is also very nice to do. especially their sizzling dishes tastes lovely.
also try a coctail as they are so good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lebasi830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The pits”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely awful, substandard food rubbish under the table. Would never return. Best staying away, nicer family environments, with better value for money close by!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito also viewed

 

Been to Chiquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing