We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a day out”

Godinton House & Gardens
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a Jacobean house with a Medieval hall and lose yourself in the incredibly beautiful gardens and ancient parkland. Fabulous events and workshop programme throughout the year. Gardens open daily: 1st March- 1st November 1pm-6pm Guided House Tours and Visitor's Tearoom open Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays: 25th March- 2nd October 1pm-5pm
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
finglesham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a day out”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a lovely old house very interetsing worth a visit

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    51
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
257 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Our relatives, the Tokes”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have been here before but this time we had the guided tour to ourselves, so it seemed rather special.

Be aware the opening times are only Friday, Saturday and Sunday 2-5.30 for the house.

Ursula our guide when she found out we were directly related to the Tokes made it that more personal to us as she gave us a lot of extra information we did not get the first time.So I cannot praise her highly enough and she had a very good sense of humour, top marks.

A really unique house and a great tour of it for the £8 entrance fee each we paid. The gardens are really good as well ,with many different areas including a huge kitchen garden, full of vegetables (Unlike my garden, full of snails). And also a small area where you can buy some plants.

One small complaint was the fact that even though they do not open till 2 the person on the front desk was late! Later on when we asked who the portrait was of she was sitting next to she didn't even know. I work in a museum and if you are sitting waiting for customers good use of time is to appraise yourself of the exhibits around you. But then I like to be helpful. I was well aware that you cannot take pictures in the house, but went to take a photo of my husband in the tea rooms and got barked at you can't take photos in here, no explanation.

So apart from Ursula I did not find the staff very user friendly. Maybe they need to go on a customer service training course or take lessons from Ursula.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyFranklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“trip”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

very boring and dull, no good for small children, polite staff, nice gardens

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Seems like a million miles from Ashford and the hurly burly.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The are twelve arces of stunning gardens, which are so tranquil. Its difficult to believe its literally a couple of miles from Ashford. The guided tour of the house was interesting, followed by a cream tea in the tea rooms. Very refreshing. I'd certainly recommend a visit for a great day out to refresh the mind and soul.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raffles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A LOVELY WAY TO WHILE TIME AWAY”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have not undertaken the inside tour of the house, just enjoyed the gardens and tea room.

Do not expect a highly manicured and slick tourist operation, but relax and enjoy the most attractive grounds and very English Country Gardens that could be found anywhere. Godington House is a place to visit, amble around, pause a bit to sit down, and let the pressures and stresses of your daily way of life wash over your head. Relaxed now? Then head off for the Tea Rooms and enjoy a simple but tasty typical English tea and you will stroll back to your car a reinvigorated person.

Remember it usually does not open until the afternoon and parking is plentiful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BOUGHTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godinton House & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Godinton House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing