We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing some of the ingredients but still very good”
Review of Joiners Armsi

Joiners Armsi
Ranked #48 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Missing some of the ingredients but still very good”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stopped off to have a lazy lunch and enjoy the Sunshine.
The Pub is located just off the main road in Bloxham., with ample parking and outside space.
The interior decor is lovely, the restaurant and seating areas spacious and welcoming.
As it was a warm day, we decided to eat on the terrace courtyard, which is again spacious and split into two areas, one under a huge pagolla, the other in the open, so a mix of sun and shade to choose from. There are other outside seating areas nestled by a brook and above the terrace.
Staff and service was friendly and quick.
We each ordered salads: Beetroot, Chicken Caesar and spicy beef.
They were all delicious though I can strongly recommend the spicy beef, which was just a perfect mix of flavors.
So why my headline "missing some of the ingredients"? Well, the Chicken Caesar was missing the Parmesan and the beetroot salad was missing the pine nuts, though only slightly detracting from the overall flavors so an overall very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sage42, Owner at Joiners Armsi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review ....From the items you have described from our menu I'm. Trying to pinpoint when you visited us as we now change our menus weekly !
I m sorry that a few items were missing from your dishes when they arrived I do hope that our waiting staff went and got the missing items from the kitchen for you.
I do hope that you will try us again in the near future x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal sat outside”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

beautiful olde worlde pub with lots of outside eating space and elegant dining areas within . A good menu with something for everyone and some unusual dishes . Well priced and well cooked . would recommend this place to anyone

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank whittcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

went here early evening, we have eaten here a few times and the food has always been good. Take children with us occasionally and they have a good childrens menu. They have recently changed the menu and taken off my favourite fish cakes, so i suppose the chef probably gets fed up with cooking same dishes all the time. The chicken with bacon and cheese was lovely which i had instead. If i was to criticise anything the tables in the bar need wiping down more often! but they were very busy if you are planning to go for sunday roast i would book first

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tortoisecobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visit every couple of months with friends and food is always of a good standard, comfortable seating area and friendly staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware the Pan Fried King Prawns!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a disastrous meal! My starter was served in a ramekin dish containing shrivelled little prawns which didn't smell of garlic, butter or parsley. The waitress insisted these were "BABY king prawns"! Have you heard anything so funny? The owner recognised them as "cocktail prawns" but defended the waitress by claiming she must have read the packet! I suggest they change their business to a comedy act. So, no starter for me (the price was higher than my partner's Trio of Fish - smoked mackerel, smoked salmon and prawns) and the steak I ate had no beef flavour at all. I didn't complain about the steak for fear they would tell me it was a baby cow so the flavour hadn't developed yet! The chips were good - perhaps the chef has experience of fast food joints only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joiners Armsi also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Joiners Armsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing