We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great place”
Review of Veritas Wine Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Veritas Wine Bar & Bistro
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Daventry
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great place”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Girly evening out for my birthday and Veritas didn't disappoint. We had the Camembert and Asparagus for starters and the Goats Cheese Roulade and Vegetarian Tartiflette for mains, with Triple Cooked Chips. All of the food was amazing, the staff were great and we had a drink on the terrace after, I can't recommend this little gem highly enough and we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jumpinletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    63
    28
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This little friendly restaurant just gets better and better”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On Saturday four of us went for a meal, the staff, as always were terrific, efficient, friendly and great fun and they will all work as a team to provide the best possible service
The food is excellent French cooking and the Early Bird menu offers fantastic value, a three course meal for four people, a bottle of wine + an additional glass came to £81.00 and worth every penny. If you've not tried it what are you waiting for??

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Used to be excellent; now ...”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited again, looking forward to another great meal and superb service. Sadly, not to be. Two staff, front of house, which was fine when we arrived. Starters, fine. No problem. Main course? Two of us were lucky but the third member of our party was served a look-warm meal on a cold plate. Possibly this was because the restaurant had been swamped by a very large party (booked in) and the two members of staff were over taxed by the rush. Not good. The nearly cold meal was taken away and re-heated. The staff dashed about, occasionally throwing us a curt 'Everything all right?' over a shoulder and not waiting to hear a reply. Great pity; we've had good times there but I'd hesitate before booking again. Hence the 60% rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This is one of two bad reviews I have written in the two years i've had trip advisor. I only review badly if I feel it is truly justified and I feel it most certainly is in this case. I visited for the first time two Saturdays ago with a group of 9 for a birthday party and if it wasn't for fear of tainting the birthday boys night I would have refused to pay. I am vegetarian and I ordered the mozzarella starter and it was literally a single slice of mozzarella (you can get a ball of the same quality for about a quid in tescos) on a bit of scattered rocket, a slice of red pepper and a bit of sauce. The sauce was tasty but seriously - nearly 7 quid for that??? I'm quite the food connoisseur but that is just unacceptable to me. The main was some sort of vegetable bake. Basically rubbery mushrooms and a HUGE inedible sloppy ball of spinach which had to be removed leaving pretty much nothing to eat. And coleslaw (?!!!!) on the side? Bizarre and unappetising. My partner had the cassoulet and it came out just slopped in a brown dish like dog food. No side, no bread, nothing. Absolutely disgusting I was fuming. If this offends the chef then so be it - to charge such extortionate prices you should be serving fabulous well thought out food. I've had miles better in Wetherspoons for 13 quid for two of us. Also - this may sound pernickety but the waitresses were both wearing jeans and scruffy shoes etc. you'd think for a posh restaurant and wine bar they would buck their ideas up. Never ever ever again. Pretty little place - such a shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HollySkyeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We eat out as a group quite a lot. We were impressed with the menu. The atmosphere was really relaxed. The food was wonderful and the staff were really friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritas Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Cropredy, Banbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing