We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alpinesta...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay!”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolutely lovely cottage, in a great getaway location. Facilities were top notch. Perfect home from home

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana B
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb cottage with stunning decor. Relaxed the minute we walked in through the door.”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great location for Silverstone and Bicester Village shopping centre. Peaceful village location which was perfect after a day shopping. Truly beautiful inside so you can relax and enjoy the tranquility. The local post office has everything you need as it has a fantastic shop selling food and beverages. I have already book another visit in June.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you Diana for your review and we look forward to seeing you in June.
Kind regards Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin C
1 review
“Lovely Relaxing Cottage”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is fantastic, really well modernised but maintaining its old charm. My family really enjoyed our short stay and will certainly return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you Justin we look forward to welcoming you all back sometime soon. Kind regards Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yasmin A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning country retreat”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Forge is a truly stunning property and so much more than we ever expected when we booked. There were so many lovely features and personal touches which make this holiday home unlike any other we have stayed in. It ensured that my Mum's 60th Birthday was so special and we all agree that we have found our new holiday 'home away from home'. Sulgrave provides you with a country retreat experience while maintaining good links to Oxford, Banbury and places such as Bicester Village. I would recommend this property to anyone and can't wait to come back in the summertime. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us Ann.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property features
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Thank you Yasmin, we are always delighted to read a glowing review and are happy that your mum so enjoyed her special birthday.
Looking forward to having you back!
Best regards Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed 5 nights at The Old Forge Cottage and it was wonderful. It was so relaxing and the area is lovely, with lots of pretty villages and welcoming country pubs with good food and service, including the The Star Inn in the village itself. The area doesn't get much publicity in terms of tourism, with the south Cotswolds being more popular but it is well worth a visit, as there is plenty to see and do. Would love to have stayed for longer.
John and Sharon Taylor

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2015
Thank you for your review we would love to welcome you back,so glad you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raaz_786
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at the Old Forge for a few days, and I have to say it was fabulous!
The Cottage is so well decorated and gives you an instant homely feeling!! We went in the winter and it was fab, I cannot imagine how great it would be in the Summer, with the huge garden, which I believe leads to an open field!
It was lovely to meet Ann, the owner, who was extremely kind and welcoming. There is a local shop which is a short walk away (a few minutes). The Cottage was very cosy, and I cannot pick one fault to be honest! So I will 100% return to The Old Forge :), and i would recommend it to everyone!

Many Thanks for a brilliant stay :) x x we shall return in the Summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lounge, very relaxing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
Thank you its great to know you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in the summer- the barbecue awaits you!
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing