We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stags Head PH

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martyn's...
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were looking for somewhere to stop overnight after the classic car show at the N.E.C. A friend suggested the travel lodge in Banbury. Luckily it was fully booked and my search for something in the same area homed in on the ‘Stags Head’ What a stroke of luck! Faith and Stematis are your hosts at this delightful village inn. Our room was everything we needed and spotlessly clean and the home cooked food (including some Greek dishes) was out of this world. We fully intend going back for a longer stay. Thank you Stematis and Faith for a wonderful evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NeneCat
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great idea!”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just what we needed - lovely room, welcoming hosts, great food and in a lovely village. We will certainly recommend The Stag to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for chosing my place
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye H
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome First Night In England”
Reviewed February 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The friend and I who travelled to England and Wales together chose the Stag's Head Public House for our first night's stay because we were attracted by the age and thatched roof. The pub is small, with only 2 rooms, to let and is family owned and operated. We stayed in the room called the Swallow's Nest which had been configured as a twin as we requested. The room was warm, clean, well-appointed and cozy. Having arrived straight from Heathrow, we appreciated the early check in, as well as the tea, coffee, biscuits, fresh milk, and juice that was waiting in the room. WIFI was available in the pub, and we spent much of the afternoon there next to the fire. The proprietors were so friendly, giving us information about the local area and inviting us to bridge club in the afternoon and to quiz night in the evening. The homemade soups and pies we had at lunch and dinner were excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. We could not have had a better start to an amazing 2 week vacation. We highly recommendation both this accommodations and the restaurant!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you for the nice review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pruwb
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a real gem - a little haven. Clean, comfortable and everything that we could have needed was there, even a hot-water bottle and a fridge. The landlord and landlady were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. In addition the food was plentiful, well cooked and tasty, especially the mackerel pate! We could not have wished for more. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to criticise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing