We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded gem in Banbury”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great location close to the town centre.Poor room in Annex, naturally airconditioned by gap under door - quoted 'for guest newspaper - outside temperature freezing during our stay.
Room had no adjustable heating, only one chair and inadequate lighting. Toilet would not flush properly and seat stayed down. The bed was comfortable but one could hear the guests clomp round upstairs so a sleep-in was not available
The restaurant had a good menu but the service was rather slow.
We would not stay there again.
Our relatives had a similar experience also in an Annex room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightbun66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 594 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

I'm glad that we stayed here through an offer, as to pay full price for the room would make me feel rather disgruntled. There were some very strange smells coming from the rear staircase area. The hotel could do with some investment from the parent company to bring it up to standard.
However, the staff were very peasant and helpful. We ate there both evenings -it's not the best cooking we've had but pleasant enough. The breakfasts were much better. The rooms were clean, with good bedding. Our bathroom only produced a trickle of hot water at the basin, so we didn't try the shower. Our friends reported that their shower was good, but their room was noisy as they were by some creaky stairs.
There were some really bad potholes in the entrance to the car park that could do serious damage to your car.
I'd recommend this hotel only if expectations weren't too high!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Didn't feel that the hotel was run down at all. It's old and some of the rooms are small but it has bags of character. Ours on the 2nd floor overlooking the street at the front was lovely. Despite the fact that we were staying during the recent cold spell, the hotel was really warm at all times. All the staff were excellent and very friendly. The breakfast was good and there was lots of choice. Didn't experience any noise from outside but it was a snowy january and there weren't many people about.

Some nice pubs and restaurants in Banbury. Had a fantastic curry at Jay Pur on Parsons street.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank LincolnShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed 3 nights in a refurbed room on 2nd floor which was very smart - even had underfloor heating around the toilet through the night. The room deal was amazing, with a quality full English for £6.95, two tasty main courses all day for under a tenner, free wi-fi. The service was very attentive. I would still consider it decent value if I had paid the more typical tariff (around £70 B&B). Banbury is well placed for seeing Oxford and the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

To say we were unhappy would be an understatement.We went there for my husbands 50th and were both looking forward to pampering ourselves in a luxury room.We expected a better standard room for £100 a night.It was cramped and uncomfortable and the decor was cheap and tatty.The only saving grace was that the bathroom looked newly decorated.The voile curtains were creased and hanging off at the ends and did not fit the window. The curtains had shrunk and hanging oddly. This gave the room an overall look of being low standard.When we first arrived our room was dusty and the toilet had dry urine under the seat. Although it was put right , this should not have happened, whatever the excuse.The passage outside our room smelled damp from the water seeping through the wall and the wallpaper was hanging off.We had such expectations and were upset by what we actually got .The street was noisy through most of the night.I will say the only positive was the friendly, pleasant staff.The best part of our stay? Our trip to Warwick Castle and the Stratford Ghost Walk. We would not stay at Old English Inns again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravlinNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed at the cromwell for 2 nights using the tesco clubcard scheme.We had a first floor room overlooking the garden.Room was very clean, if a tad small, but was well equipped with all the usual such as hairdryer,tea/coffee making facilities ,iron etc.Hotel was olde world style which was far bettter than the "plastic " hotel chains. Restaurant was very reasonably priced and the food was excellent(and the menu choice was very good as well).All staff members were pleasant and polite and extremely helpful.I was a bit concerned when i read some of the previous reports on the hotel but i can honestly say we had no complaints at all.I would definitely use the cromwell again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basildonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our friend booked us a night at the Cromwell Lodge as a thank you to my husband for taking her wedding photographs that day. As the wedding was early Saturday morning we booked the Friday night ourselves also.
To pay £60 this morning on checking out was painful enough but to be charged initially for the two nights was insulting!!
The hotel is cold, dark and dingy. There was a gapping hole in the corner of one of the windows in our room and the smell in our room coming from the bathroom was overwhelming to the point that I felt physically sick. I don't know if it was drains, damp or what but it was awful.
It has been mentioned before in earlier reviews that the shower curtains do not reach the bath and the bathroom floor gets wet when you have a shower. In our room the floor flooded right up to the bedroom carpet - perhaps the source of the smell?
The only good thing was the very large comfortable bed - but with the smell coming from bathroom the bedroom itself was far from welcoming,.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northampton_MrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing