We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of the week for three nights whilst on a business trip.
Whilst room could perhaps could do with a bit of touching up, it was clean and comfortable.
Got to agree that floorboards on the corridors creaked but it is a very old building!
The staff were all very friendly, polite, unobtrusive and attentive and all appear to be very hard working and versatile!
Breakfasts were excellent- fruit, yoghurt, cereals and pastries left out as buffet style, with varied choice of cooked breakfast's swiftly cooked to order, and to requirements.
A very pleasant stay and if I need to return to the area I would have no hesitation in booking for here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank localtolytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. All feedback is invaluable to us to monitor and improve our levels of customer service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    172
    99
    60
    39
See reviews for
82
245
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stay in the Cromwell Lodge for 6-7 weeks from April 2014 while I was working in Banbury. The hotel was exactly what I was looking for with a good car park where I could leave my car during the week as my place of work was within easy walking distance. I stopped in a number of different rooms during this period and found that they were all of a very good quality with good on suite facilities.
Breakfasts were very good and a prefect way to start the day and I found the evening meals in the restaurant were of a very good standard as well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and made my stay very enjoyable.
I would be more than happy to stay at the Cromwell Lodge again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solar_Veteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to the Cromwell Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked the Cromwell for our wedding reception (not for the actual wedding). It is part of the ye olde English inns hotel chain and we used one of their deals for the wedding and evening do.

The Cromwell itself is well located near the centre of Banbury and is a circa 400 year old building. This character was a big reason in the selection of the venue. From the selection and initial payment of the deposit, the management changed hands, but this didn't impact on our arrangements. We did some of the organising and room preparation ourselves, but this meant we could add our own touches and have it in the style we wanted and still meant it was good value for money.

There is a fountain in the marquee and we could decorate this in our own style and the staff also provided some support with fairy lights and moved the tables to our request the day before and provided tea and coffee and asked if we needed anything else to let them know.

We found the staff, from Mel and Gavin to the rest of the team, to be very accommodating, friendly and nothing was too much for them to do.

The food went down well - was a standard 3 course meal, but was appreciated by us and the guests and they provided for gluten free guests (three at main meal and one extra on evening buffet).Speeches went on 15 minutes past service time, but this didn't impact on the service which was smooth, and if anything was due to myself and my wife mingling that delayed other courses.

Breakfast in the morning was tasty, but could be a little slow at peak times and as they had less staff serving it could resort in tracking them down. However, this is understandable as it is not that large a hotel. But when served it was with a smile and was very nice.

The evening reception included a disco arranged by the hotel and the floor was cleared which gradually got filled up by the revellers as the night wore on and the drinks flowed. The bar is not an all night bar, and last orders was at 11:30 both nights, although we were able to order multiple drinks at this stage and sit and chat to later in the night.

Throughout the weekend, the staff service was excellent and it was a great weekend for us and the guests that we had feedback from.

.

Room Tip: We had room 23, which is the best in the hotel (recommended as the honeymoon suite). The room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malmo_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your special day. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff, thank you for allowing us to be a small part in your happiness on your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was our first time at The Cromwell Lodge and as my husband and I like period features we were highly delighted when entering the reception area ,the staff are all super friendly and the food superb. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gl1500Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, I will be passing these on to our team, all feedback is greatly appreciated, we hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We held our Daughters wedding reception in the marquee at The Cromwell on 3rd May and I must say Mel, Gavin and the team made it a very easy and pleasant experiance, nothing was too much trouble, they made sure that the Marquee looked fantastic.The only problem we had was that the soup changed and we had 1 guest that was unable to eat it, but they very quickly brought a substitute starter, the food in general was excellent value and it all came out hot. We did occupy 10 rooms overnight the shower in our room was small but adequate, bed very comfortable and yes most of our rooms had creaky floorboards but it's on old building!! The breakfast was plentyfull with a lot of choice. We would certainly recommend The Cromwell as a wedding venue.Well done, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We really appreciate your kind comments and I will be passing these on to the team, and are so grateful to be a little part of you happiness for your special day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Cromwell Lodge is a nicely decorated olde worlde pub/hotel near the centre of Banbury. It has a lot going for it and we'd be happy to stay again when we visit Banbury, but we did have some gripes.

The breakfast was delicious....when it arrived. Service on both mornings was very slow.

There seemed to be a hot water problem in our room (room 22.) We had to run the hot water tap in the basin for a long time before the shower received hot water.

The floor boards are very creaky.

Despite these complaints we would be happy to stay again as the hotel is very well located near the town, the beds are very comfortable and the pub serves good food in a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 22 which seemed to have a bit of a delay getting hot water to the shower. Had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our delicious food and good atmosphere in our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as there is always room for improvement and ways in developing our standard of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed in the Cromwell Lodge for two nights, its located very centrally just of the center of Banbury. the hotel is an old building which has been adapted, so some of the rooms and spaces can be tight. We had a " Superior Room " meaning the attic room accessed through a lot of stairs with low ceilings, both in getting to your room and also in the room itself. The en suite facilities were sparse, with no shower other than a hand held unit within the bath.

The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was nice, but we would only recommend this hotel if you were on a tight budget. Banbury does offer easy access to Oxford as the train only takes 20 minutes and at £6 return is cheaper than driving and parking, as you avoid all the traffic delays.

Room Tip: Banbury does offer easy access to Oxford as the train only takes 20 minutes and at £6 return is chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Cromwell. Your feedback is invaluable to enable us to monitor, evaluate and improve our levels of customer service, and develop our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Property: Cromwell Lodge
Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing