We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Cromwell Lodge”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Cromwell in February. Remembering that the hotel was built some 500 years ago, one must remember that it is old, hallways are narrow, and the floors aren't totally level...and that's what adds to the charm! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the lodge is very clean and well kept, and the whole experience was just darn quaint! Half a block away is the historic Reindeer Inn (google it).
We had a great time and really enjoyed the genuinely friendly folks at the lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your short break with us, and that our team could make it a friendly and comfortable stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team regarding the service that you received, and we very much look forward to welcoming you to the Cromwell again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 594 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Recently stayed at the Cromwell Lodge in Banbury,staff couldn't have been more helpful,rooms would benefit from some cosmetic improvements. Selection of Beer and quality of food especially Breakfast was extremely good. More importantly the staff that work within the Cromwell are naturally friendly and go out of there way to be helpful. Especially big thank you to Peter who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent experience. I am extremely glad that we could make your stay with us a comfortable and enjoyable one. We are currently implementing a maintenance programme to improve the decor of our rooms, and hope to get them to a standard that meets with the wonderful comments you have stated about the team in the near future. I will pass on your kind words to Peter, and the rest of the team, who I am sure will be very happy to hear them. We very much look forward to welcoming you at the Cromwell again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I'm glad we had tesco vouchers as if we'd paid the £200 up front we would have been more disappointed. As it is not value for money. It is an Inn & I was aware that this affects the style of the building, but there is no excuse for poor maintenance. Windows that are stuck partly open, plaster coming off. We did complain bout a bulb not working as in conjunction with a faulty bed side light the room was dark. The staff made the place & fixed it straight away even giving us free deserts at dinner. I hope management appreciate their staff (& show them that they do), they were all running around & putting effort into trying to make sure guests were happy. The food could have been better, items over cooked & dry both at dinner & breakfast. I can see someone else has commented on this so I presume we had the same chief as they did.
We had a pleasant weekend but having stayed in a number of hotels in this price range. The hotel could have done better. But hooray for the staff!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, as such feedback is invaluable for us to always strive and improve our standards and service. We apologise that things were not up to scratch upon your arrival, but I am glad that the team could rectify some of the smaller issues for you as swiftly as they did. We are currently working through all of our rooms to rectify some of the structural problems you have mentioned, and to improve the general maintenance of the building. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful comments in reference to the team members who were on duty, it fills me with immense pride, and is always a joy to feed your comments back to them during our service review sessions. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again, and that our maintenance standards can match up to the service levels that you have so kindly mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Yes, the hotel itself is a little tired and could do with some updating, but the staff are amazing. It is so refreshing to go somewhere that has such friendly, hospitable and accommodating staff. They really made our weekend..... They work such long hours and must be exhausted, but they never stopped smiling. My husband has his leg in plaster and we were inundated with offers of help and assistance to make our stay more comfortable. We are looking forward to returning hopefully for a longer break.

Room Tip: Church bells ring from the early hours on a sunday and there is no escaping them! Front of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleydlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased to hear that the team contributed to ensuring that your stay with us was as comfortable as possible. We are working through the hotel to improve the general maintenance of the building, and hope to have a building to match the attitude and standards our team strive to deliver in due course. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I didn't stay in the hotel myself but arranged for some customers to stay there after they had a leak at their flat and couldnt stay there. We needed to extend the stay a number of times at short notice, and at one point checked out and then needed to check back in again on the same day and every one of our requests was met with flexibility, patience and great service. Everyone I spoke to was friendly and really couldn't do enough to help. Promises were kept and communication was good and the customers that did stay here only had good things to say about the room, the service and the food - they ate in the restaurant every day. Thank you so much for all your help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritshamsPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that we could provide a comfortable stay, and that we could accommodate your needs. We look forward to welcoming you to the Cromwell again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I'm sat here at 1:30a.m. Unable to sleep due to the building work being carried out below my room.
Four workmen knocking down walls and drilling / sawing all bloody night. This is akin to a carry on films.
To say I'm disgusted that the hotel sold this room to me knowing that this work was scheduled is an understatement.
This hotel CERTAINLY do not care for their guests, I will be seeking a full refund and compensation in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prettybloodyangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are unreservedly sorry for the events that transpired during your visit, the inconvenience and the emotional distress that this caused you at the time. They were essential repairs that caused much more disruption than first anticipated. We accept full responsibility for what happened and, as agreed, there was to be absolutely no charge for any of your experience with us. We do hope that Customer Services could help to resolve the matter for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Cromwell on Thursday 27th of Feb. Although the room they gave us was fabulous we found as pensioners the stairs were to the top floor were a bit to much. We asked for a lower room and thanks to the manager we were moved and it was very much appreciated. It was no problem to park the car at the rear of the Hotel. (free of charge)
As regards the room there were no complaints, comfortable beds tea and coffee with biscuits, we could not fault it. The Hotel is just across the road from Banbury shopping centre. The evening meals are evenly priced as well as the wine list. Breakfast was quite filling with a good choice.
All in a very pleasant stay and many thanks for their friendliness towards the older generation.

Room Tip: If you are not to happy with your room try and change it but we did not hear any complaints while we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We endeavour to always try our best to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout their stay wherever possible, and we very much look forward to welcoming you at the Cromwell again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing