We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel one night as part of a tour. We had a room on an upper floor at the front of the building. There was no AC, but the window could open and there was a fan.

However, this is a busy street, so the noise of the traffic, and a group of teenagers having fun early in the morning, made it difficult to sleep.

Even more difficult for me was that the only covering on the bed was a very nice duvet. This was July and the duvet was WAY too warm. I hate having air blow on me, and husband had to have the fan since it was hot. I wound up sleeping under a bath towel.

The other issue was that they put a roll away bed in our room for our son (no triples). The room was too small to have the roll away set up, so we asked them to just leave it and we would set it up later. I'm glad we did.

Several of the wires under the mattress were not connected, so I fixed that before setting up the bed. We also realized there was only one sheet, so I asked for another, which was given quite happily (wish I had known to ask for one for me!).

Another couple traveling with their grandson in our group had worse luck with the roll away bed - it collapsed when their grandson climbed in!

Breakfast the next morning was certainly adequate and everyone (including my picky son) found something to eat. Dinner the night before had been quite good.

Overall, an ok place to stay but I probably wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cybored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 581 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2008

I booked this from viewing the photos on the website and it all looked wonderful.

The outside is a wonderful old inn at Banbury Cross. When I got there they were full and I was given a single room even though I had booked a double. The room was tiny but I must admit had everything a single travellor would need and the shower room was new so that was a bonus. However there wa a connecting door so I had to wait until my neighbour turned his tele off at 2 in the morning before I could go to sleep. Also you couldnot sleep with the window open as the road is generally busy all night and there is a night clud two doors down and with the smokers partying most of the night outside the club this really isnt the place to stay if you are a light sleeper.

The staff were friendly and polite but the deocr was looking tired in places and really was an up market budget hotel. The food was the type that you get at any pub - stick it in the oven, fryer or microwave with chips - so we went to a fantastic Thai restaurant just opposite - we can certainly recommend that!

The breakfast was buffet style and good.

I would stay here again or recommend it as it was noisy and not that relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChunkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Also referred to on this site as just the Cromwell Hotel.

Just stayed one night on a late availability for £15pp, so cannot grumble too much.
The hotel is impressive from the outside, nice and clean inside.
The bar area is pleasent.
Our room was a nice size, but one or two little things like no plug in the sink, covers missing off the taps, wallpaper a little shabby in places would have got me a little upset had I paid the full £95 per night.

We paid £7 for the breakfast, which was not as good as others I have had at Old english Inns hotels, but it was OK.

Overall if you can get a good deal then try, full price I would look elsewhere for good value


  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This is a nice place to stay if you aren't looking for 4 star accomodation. The staff are very friendly, the food is nice,hot and well presented. The room we stayed in, number 120 was looking abit dated and was a bit small, but if you are looking for a base to explore the cotswolds you could do alot worse. I used the Cromwell Lodge as a base to show my friend around the cotswolds as she had never been there before.
We had a ball, I used to live in Banbury until about 14 years ago and it was very strange to see the changes. The pubs have nosedived but the Unicorn in the market place retains most of its original features and the staff were very friendly with us. Give this place ago if you want someplace for a quick stop over, it can get ait noisy dueto the marque for the weddings situated right under the windows. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

This Hotel is the most disappointing place I have ever stayed, we went for my husbands 50th birthday I booked this hotel, because if you have a look at the web site (and you must) it looks idyllic and quiet ,PAH! rubbish it was facing a bar that had very loud music pumping out of it untill 12am and I know that does not sound late but when the late night revellers are under you window at 2 and 3 am it's no fun.
The website boasted an extensive wine list, well if you call Jacobs Creek with a £10 mark up extensive. The food was appalling you could tell everything had been cooked previously and warmed in a microwave, especially the breakfast the bacon,sausage and black pudding I could of soled my shoes with they were so hard.
The service of any kind was slow .
Its the only time I have been glad to leave a hotel and couldn't wait to get home

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

This hotel considiring it is a 2 star was very good Rooms quite modern clean bathroom clean and bright modern decoration. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good. Banbury its self is not very nice but loads of good places near by to visit. Food in hotel restaurant not brilliant but again they seemed to try hard to please.

Would reccomend the Indian restaurant a stones through from hotel called Mem Saab 1 Horsefair walking distance. Excellent food and service.
Generally enjoyed our visit and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essex1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ממליץ על חדר הפונה לחצר.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $70 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing