We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Thatcham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently visiting family and attending a fund raising event. From the moment we arrived on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday morning our stay was made very nice. Bruce and his team are a credit to the group, all the staff are friendly and helpful.
The food is very good, we had an early evening meal on the Friday which was excellent, we both had fish and chips, the fish was really nice and neither greasy. We regards to the drinks they are very reasonable priced and the wine priced very good compared to most hotels.
Our room was very nice, lovely shower and big fluffy towels.
I would like to mention B who always seemed to be there from early morning to early evening and again a thank you to Bruce. Ian and Alma Marsden

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsdens39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    178
    105
    64
    46
See reviews for
88
260
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sthelens
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just been to a wedding at this pub and it was one of the best iv been too.The food was excellent it was cheap and the staff couldnt do enough for you.They were very busy but they always had time to talk,they didnt flinch when 3 xtra people showed up they just got xtra chairs.The room had a iron and a iron board and hairdryier. Drink were a good price too.Every member of staff were A+

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are good for noseying :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your great comments see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My room was on the top floor (and there are quite a few stairs!) but it was nice, quiet, clean, and had biscuits as well as tea / coffee / shampoo / hairdryer / TV. The biscuits always begin to sell a hotel to me!

Sleep was good quality, bed was firm but not hard and the shower was large enough.

The bar sold some GOOD beer, the staff were lovely and the food was plenty good and reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking, don't ask for a top floor room. Also some ground floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Im not sure where to start. when we arrived we were taken to a room. On walking in I was immediately struck by the obnoxious smell followed by being struck by the mildew on the net curtain and the gap under the door which opened out on to the garden. After complaining we were shown to another room upstairs which had wallpaper hanging off the wall, the door hanging off the wardrobe and a hole in the net curtain. We decided to stay here as we had no where else to stay. Fortunately the bedding was clean and fresh and the bathroom and room cleaned well. Breakfast was good but by the time we ate it we were just keen to get out of the place. We will not be returning or recommending it but at least they made the gesture and took £20 off the bill because they were embarrassed.

Room Tip: don't take 25 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Sorry we did not meet your expectations especially when you were moved from your original choice. Hope you return so we can make you feel welcome and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What can i say, friendly staff, very clean and great food and valve for money. Could do with a handy man for small bits of maintenance in the rooms but apart from that will definitely be going back. Beautiful gardens at the back and great location we loved Banbury.

Room Tip: Room 17 very nice double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasseyedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your great comments hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

First lets start with the positives. The rooms are very good, with really comfortable beds and everything you might need - except an electric fan. Ironing board, digital tv, tea and coffee, and free wifi are all provided.

Food served in the bar and restaurant was pretty decent; and very reasonably priced.

However, whilst I'd love to give this hotel 4 or 5 stars, I can't - in the 2 nights I stayed there I slept for maybe 2 hours if I'm lucky.

The problem? First, I booked on hotels.com on the basis that the room had "climate control". I can only assume that they mean "open the window" because there was no climate control and no electric fan. The room was unbearably hot, so on the first night I had to leave the windows wide open to try and get some air in. On the second night, I couldn't do this due to noise from guests in the beer garden until 3am. Even a polite "please shut up" didn't stop their incessant racket.

Additionally, the plumbing in the hotel is so loud - when anybody in neighbouring rooms uses a toilet or tap, the white noise produced is ridiculously loud. It has to be heard to be believed.

I'm disappointed because the hotel really is lovely - the staff are very pleasant, check in and check out was painless and rooms are of a good standard. But sleeping on a hot night proved to be impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Wilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
sorry to hear your comments please do return and hopefully we can rectify these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Oh dear! To start on a positive I LOVED the bed and bedding and slept very well.
Check in was a bit perplexing as we had thought we had pre-paid but the Receptionist thought we hadn't...
The room was Ok, I thought but my husband thought it was a bit damp and it was a bit shabby.
In the morning, things went a bit 'down-hill' as we waited 20 minutes for a pot of tea, for breakfast and 40 minutes for our cooked breakfast. My bacon tasted a bit odd at one end of one 'rasher' and the scrambled egg was very dry and my baked beans were congealed, but we were a bit 'beyond caring' by then. The pot of tea was nice; we ordered another one, as we had finished the first one by the time the cooked breakfast was served.
Check out was time-consuming.
I had a print-out of my booking and could confirm that we HAD prepaid but I had to wait in the queue to hand in our key, which was a bit annoying. I did get an apology from the receptionist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am sorry you were not 100 percent happy with your stay. Thank you for your comments and we will endeavour to rectify the points raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Property: Cromwell Lodge
Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing