We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this a 4 Star?”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Paid £90 a night for a superior room and was extremely disappointed. The stay did not start well as there were no signs to indicate where parking was. When we were directed round the back it was extremely run down. Reception dark and we were greeted by someone who doesn't normally work there and was wearing a parka!! Unsure how they decided it was a superior room - on a slope, very dated furniture and decor, no heater in bathroom so that was always cold and a dim light. The shower head dripped constantly and when we removed it the whole system buzzed. The tiles round the bath were stained and we were provided with only one small bottle of shampoo and one hand towel. The mattress was clearly past its best. Breakfast was ok but the service was very hit and miss. Damaged walls on the stairs, bar area felt like a wetherspoons. The manager had not been there that long and was clearly working a lot of hours and was exhausted. He has his work cut out. Won't be booking again - the website certainly does not reflect the state of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 594 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a shambles from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. All staff are temporary (the last lot having been sacked apparently) and we got fed up of being told that "we've only been here a week and don't know where everything is".

Bar ran out of beer, coffee machine closed down for cleaning at 9-30pm, when bar full of customers who had just eaten. Sat for nearly 30 minutes before someone took our order for breakfast. Tables were not cleared so we had to eat at filthy tables with the previous customers plates piled up alongside. The room we were allocated was smelly, the bathroom mouldy and we managed to get about 2 hours sleep because of the noise.

We couldn't even find anyone to complain to! There was never anyone at reception or on bar duty - the place deserves to close.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanDBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, we have already remedied the points you raise. Please do try us again so we can show you how good we can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We originally booked through an offer of £99 for 2 nights in September and then needed to change it to Saturday and Sunday which they did without any problem.
We checked in and went up to our room which was at the front of the hotel. After a great day in Banbury we returned and after a cuppa retired to bed. I like a dark room but the one we were in had a small window let in above the door - 4" high and as long as the door which let LOADS of light in from the fitting outside the door. I went to reception and asked if they had another room we could swap to as I wasn't able to sleep and the hotel was fully booked. There was one room though that was marked 'out of service' on the system so the young man on reception went to check it out. He came back 5 minutes later and said it was fine and we could move into that one instead - he'd left a light on and switched the radiator on too. We moved and it was 100% better. Not their fault, rather a crappy door design.
The hotel has very recently changed hands and the new staff are being confronted with niggles every hour of every day. Apparently the previous management didn't deal with issues and so wereremoved - the staff there at the moment have been drafted in from different hotels to help get the hotel back on its feet.
The restaurant was fully booked on Saturday and Sunday and the bar was busy too. There is a car park at the rear of the building but if you get there and it's full there are two others (pay and display) nearby until you can move your car into it.
Once sorted this place will be a credit to Banbury, and the staff that brought it back out of its decline.

Room Tip: Room 17 is at the very back of the hotel and quite dark - room 6 has the funny little door window an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFoodie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we are really pleased to hear all of your comments & will pass this onto our team. We look forward to seeing you back at the Cromwell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

reception not great, after waiting 5 mins from ringing the bell had to go to the bar and ask to check in.
room a bit quirky but ok, until I realised there was a missing - yes missing - window pane. clearly this had been the case for some time as there was a piece of cardboard 'stuck' to the window with packing tape except it had been there long enough for the tape to become unstuck. on a very chilly winter night the only option was to block the gap with one of the spare pillows. also there seemed to be a large hole underneath the carpet which you sank in to everytime you went to the bathroom. Mentioned the missing window pane when checking out and the temporary manager said that the previous manager had left suddenly a week ago and they hadnt had a chance to check all rooms - cant understand how in a hotel this small they would not be able to get around all rooms in a week??? also unable to do full checkout as 'systems were down' but temp manager took my email details and promised to email account to me later that day - no email received 5 days later. having read another review I am now concerned that I will be charged for something I didnt spend, and only my credit card statement will confirm. I actually tried to cancel this hotel 12 hours before checking in and was told I would be charged full cancellation - if I had known my allocated room was missing a window pane I would never have checked in and would have refused cancellation fees

Room Tip: not the one with the broken window pane - cant remember but may have been 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, the window concerned has been fixed & given the age of our building these things are subject to listed building challenges which I am sure you can appreciate. We do hope that you will try us again & give us the opportunity to show how good we can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed over for one night on our way back from London to North Wales. We were made very welcome when we arrived, our room was clean with nice fresh bed linen. The room was very warm but the bathroom had no heating which was quite cool. We ordered our evening meal which I was really looking forward too, I chose chili chicken from the special board, I thought the chicken was tough I left quite a bit of it, I mentioned it to Gabriela the owner and she just brushed it aside. My husband also ordered a news paper to be delivered to the room next morning but didn't arrive. When we arrived home and I looked at the bill I noticed they had charged us for it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding The Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to improve our service offered to our guests. Please be assured that we took your comments on board so that other customers do not have a same experience & issues regarding the quality of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only popped in to have a look at prospective places to stay and eat in Banbury.
Had a lovely couple of hours sitting in front of the roaring fire supping beers.
Cant comment on the food or accommodation but the bar areas were nice and the food being served looked good.
Certainly worth a visit and on this very snowy and cold day it was no wonder that they were busy as opposed to the other nearby hotels and pubs who had not lit their fires.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

First of all l would just like to say this is a old building and it may be need of a little work which reading the reviews some people think but this all cost money . How ever we use The Cromwell a lot for something to eat meet friends the food is always very good and great value for money the breakfast is really good to we have never stopped there as we only live just out of town but we do go there some times on a Sundays for breakfast. We have also been there for the last 3 years for New years and had a good night Excellent value The staff are all very good. Big thank you to Gabriel and Gabrela and l would like to wish them both all the best From The Davis family and friends

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,312,190,758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for this feedback we do value all of our customers comments. We will of course be passing this on the team to ensure we learn from everything you have said, it is always nice to be able to pass on positives. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us & hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing