We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Creaky and Stained Horrors”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We followed the hotel description from the internet booking system and those from the hotel directory. At the end of our stay we thought we were in a nightmare. The rooms the hotel manager put to our disposal offered us a trip to the past. The rooms are not refurbished, especially not the bathroom of the double bed room for my wife and me - a really trip to Britain in the time of the forties. It was conspicuous that the room are only superficial cleaned; the table in the room was completely sticked and the shower curtain was full of mould! The bathroom window, or better to say those what a bathroom window may be, was also mouldy and has got the last painting after the Battle of Britain. Both rooms were choking with an unidentified smell of airfreshioner, offered tired tatty furniture and poorly lit. Historical was also the condition of our mattress, but we had refused any further examination.... I will expect such a hotel in Mumbai but not in the Cotswolds! In the restaurant we found the next morning similar conditions: the table hasn't been cleaned from the former guests, everything was sticking. The restaurant room looks like arranged from the last auction - we found six different types of chairs around the tables and the praised English breakfast proved as a bad joke with burned mushrooms, scrambled eggs from the fast food collection and toast which might be from the day before. This stay was really a journey to the past. It was the most creepily hotel stay we ever had! P.S. Although I have paid the hotel by cash the management debited my credit card with the room rates. I have kindly asked the management to explain this "mistake" twice, but I haven't received neither a reply nor an apology - Sherewood forest is close-by, prehaps we have met some of the sheriffs relatives. Who knows....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We will of course pass this on to the team members concerned & remedy everything we can. We do hope you will visit us again so we can show you how good we can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 575 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location, i couldn't praise the staff more, very attentive.
Would stay again.....give them all a pay rise.
The hotel room was adequate very clean and tidy and the bar area had a good atmospere.
My self and my wife had a great weekend and was also impressed with the breakfast and selection.
The hotel was well located for the shops, bars and restaurants.
I wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmstrong197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

It’s great to get your feedback & we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Cromwell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The best mini break you could wish for. No faults what so ever. Gabriel and his team work very hard to achieve a good a friendly time and pleasant stay. I won this stay but would of been more than happy to have payed for my break. Booking again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback, we are really pleased you had such a good time with us & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel for a birthday night away. Firstly, I found the staff to be helpful and check in was quick. We got to our room which was clean and tidy. There was a decent shower and a comfortable bed. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of town. The only bad thing was the restaurant wasn't open but there's plenty of places to eat locally. Would I stay there again, yes.

Room Tip: Beware higher up rooms if you have mobility problems, there's no lift due to it being an old bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belbox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding The Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to improve our service offered to our guests. We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that we took your comments on board and shared them with our team. The restaurant it is open from 7am until 10pm Monday to Friday and 8am until 10 pm Saturday and Sunday. Once again we would like to send our apologies for this matter and hope that you shall visit Old English Inns in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed at an old English pub before in seven oaks, they both seem good value.
You have to remember these buildings are old and that's why we pick this chain.
If you want a modern hotel then this is not the one.
We had a good stay plenty of hot water shower good.
Loads of sockets in the room and a fair size LCD tv with free view.
Old cast single glazing. BUT secondary glazing as well
Good breakfast plenty of choice, we ate in the restaurant one night both had fillet steak both cooked to perfection.
Staff was great very friendly, room was clean.
Only one slight problem we had room 11 which has a fire exit door which is joined to room 10, well we could here there conversations, there tv, coughing, the lot.
The only good thing was they went sleep early and woke late so wasn't to much of a problem.
Saying that would still come back but not to rooms 10 and 11.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank steve9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding The Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to improve our service offered to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that we took your comments on board and shared them with our team. We are always looking to improve our standards in bedrooms , however because of fire regulations the joined door it is a must in this room. Once again we would like to send our thanks for your feedback and hope that you shall visit Old English Inns in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in November. The position was excellent, just a couple of hundred yards from city centre and the staff were very friendly. We also understand from other guests that the food was good, although we didn't eat there.

Our room was very tired looking (although the bed was comfortable). The leaded windows were single glazed and some didn't close properly. One even had the handle missing. The fixed head shower was in front of the controls so that one got drenched in cold water just in trying to turn it on and then of course was the difficultly of trying to adjust the temperature through the stream of water that was either ice cold or scolding hot. There was also no lift so elderly guests might have had a problem. The furniture, such as was there, looked like it had just arrived from a junk shop. We would rate this hotel at 2 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: Ask to look at it before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding The Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to improve our service offered to our guests. We are sorry to hear of your experience on that day. Please be assured that we took your comments on board and shared them with the team. We are always looking to improve our standards in bedrooms and can confirm that this matter has been dealt with by our handy man. Once again we would like to send our apologies for this matter and hope that you shall visit Old English Inns in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few days on one of the owners many deals.It was clean warm and good food.Lovely spot for shopping in town and excellent thai restaurant opposite.Rooms were very good and cleaned both days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $79 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing