We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little find cannot fault”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing little find cannot fault”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here this weekend on an offer found in our local paper, £58 for 2 nights including breakie. We arrived Friday and were given our room, due to it being an offer we booked a twin room, but it was not a problem. We were on the top floor, low ceilings to watch on the way up there, but the room itself was spacious, clean and lovely decorated. Yes there is no double glazing which people keep talking about but it is a listed building and they put in that secondary glazing so it doesn't seem cold and the noise from the road is not as bad as you think it might be.
We went for dinner in the restaurant and the food was lovely. Quality food at reasonable prices. The second night we went to San Carlo an Italian just across the road, which was lovely. Cannot fault the food at Cromwell and the choice of breakfast is lovely, freshly made and presentation was first class.
Lastly the staff at Cromwell cannot do enough for you, they were thoroughly welcoming and friendly. This is one of the best weekend breaks in the uk I have ever had, really lovely, thank you for making it such a lovely weekend :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor as being an older building you might hear noise from above if on lower floors. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach161982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    174
    102
    63
    43
See reviews for
84
254
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is within minutes of the shops at the centre of Banbury and we were spoilt for choice of good restaurants on the doorstep.

On the first night we ate at the hotel and were served by Luis who was friendly and helpful. I stayed in a double room at the front, which was warm and clean. The shower was fabulous. There was also a bath in the en suite. The towel rail was missing from the bathroom.

Breakfast on both mornings was delicious: a buffet with fruit and cereal, eggs benedict, full English etc from the menu. I'd recommend reserving the large table at the front of the room furthest from the bar as we did for the first morning. On the second morning we were told that we couldn't sit there at first, even though it was empty, but then one of the waiters said it was no problem and moved place settings. I think his name was Kirk and he was excellent both behind the bar and serving food.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 7, at the front of the hotel. The windows have secondary glazing and with this clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

we had a 2 night stay and was put in a back room that was really really shabby. not a room to relax in at all, the television didnt work in the room, the advertised log fires were broke !!!!(something to do with a chimney problem).

the food was really nice and the breakfast was very good although the staff struggled to understand us as they were all foreign.

i feel we overpaid for the shabby room.

Room Tip: Dont have the downstairs annexe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback on your experience here at the Cromwell Hotel. We value all feedback whether good or bad to make sure that these situations do not occur in the future.
All of our rooms have been recently refurbished but we shall look further into what we can do to improve this room from your comments.
With regards to the log fires, we do not advertise that we have these. Due to the chimneys being very old it is not wise for the hotel to burn logs so coal is used.
The team at the Cromwell are all very professional, which should not effect the standards that we set ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had a room at the back and there were no functions on so we actually found it very peaceful. The staff were lovely, very friendly. The room was fine, clean, warm, coffee etc provided- very nice biscuits! The food was excellent- we had dinner on one night and our food was very good indeed. The breakfasts could not be faulted- so much choice. The full English was 'spot-on', there were several cooked options as well as muffins, croissants, danish pastry, jams, cereals etc.
It is in a perfect location- cross over the road and you are in the main street to the shopping centre. There are several restaurants/bars within a few steps. Banbury is a lovely town, loads of history and interesting things to see, a big canalside shopping centre, and many good places to eat- I'd particularly recommend the friendly 'Grand Union' in Bridge Street on the edge of the shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice place, well situated, good food and bar service etc.

Room was a bit awkward to access as it was up and down a low ceiling height corridor in the 'loft'. The biggest problem was the COLD ROOM. The bathroom was large, with no heating at all, not even a heated towell rail. It had no window, so the very noisy extract fan was unavoidable.

They seem very keen on energy saving, so the small radiator in the room went cold in the early hours, and wouldn't normally come on again until 7 pm. They did switch the heating on when we complained.

We were also overcharged, with 4 wrong items being applied to our bill, but again this was rectified - after an hours wait though.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a heated bathroom if in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback on your recent stay at The Cromwell Lodge Hotel. We value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
As the hotel is a listed building, we are unable to create a higher ceiling along the corridor on the top floor. With regards to the heating, it is timed for when guests check into their rooms and also early on in the morning, which we feel as appropriate timings to make guests feel more comfortable and relaxed, but we shall look at this and possibly change these times.
We would like to apologise again for the error on your invoice and are pleased that we were able to rectify this.
Once again we do appreciate the comments that you have made and hope that we can welcome you back to the Cromwell Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Recently returned from the Cromwell after celebrating our Anniversary. We had a room upstairs at the front.(No.18) There was some traffic noise but nothing to disturb us. The bathroom was large and very clean. Good sized bed and comfortable. The breakfasts and evening meals were excellent with plenty of choice. A first class chef with helpful and efficient waiters and bar staff. They worked hard with politeness and attention to the guests at all times. Well done to Gabriel for managing the hotel so well. The position of the Cromwell made it convenient to the local precinct with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. All in all a very good break.
Isobel and Trevor Rees.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIRStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Booked in for a relaxing mid-week break. All staff very friendly and professional. Meals and drinks excellent value for money and very good quality, especially breakfast. Hotel within 5 mins walking distance to town centre. Front bedrooms are subject to some traffic noise, but bed and bedroom clean and comfortable. Bed linen and towels very good quality. Public areas of hotel clean and well kept. Free car park at rear. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Property: Cromwell Lodge
Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing