We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable and a great breakfast!”
Review of Hanwell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanwell House
Ranked #1 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A brief overnight stay at Hanwell House was very pleasant indeed, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. We received a warm welcome, the room and en suite were immaculate and the breakfast great quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Hanwell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We only stayed one night, to get to a weekend event at Gaydon the next day. We wished we'd booked the whole weekend there. Jan and Nigel were so helpful but not intrusive or overpowering. From the time we booked - sending us detailed directions, when we arrived - advising where to go to eat, and the fantastic breakfast - home made marmalade and preserves! Definitely will be back when next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed or just one night whilst staying away for business. Jan could not have been more welcoming, Hanwell House was spotless throughout and I experienced a sound nights sleep.As i was due to leave earlier than breakfast is usually served Jan was more than happy to ensure I ate prior to setting off to work. A lovely lady and lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sezyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way down south for two weeks and again on our way home, to have a break from driving and enjoy a good nights sleep. On our first visit we certainly had an excellent night's sleep but on our return visit we were lucky and very grateful to be upgraded and experienced yet another lovely restful night's sleep - both occasions,followed by a superb delicious breakfast. Jan and Nigel have created a lovely home from home atmosphere and gave us a very warm welcome. We will certainly stay at Hanwell House again and I have no hesitation in highly recommending Jan and Nigel's beautiful home to everyone..

Room Tip: Both Edgehill and Cropready rooms were at the back of the house and not just extremely comfortable b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS_W82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hi again, we recently stayed at Hanwell House for the 4th consecutive year in order to attend the Motogp at Silverstone. I doubted that any improvements could be made but a few little tweaks have enhanced the experience of staying here. Jan now offers scrambled eggs with smoked salmon as a choice at breakfast and I can certainly recommend it, it was yummy! She made us a super packed breakfast/lunch for the Sunday as we wanted an extra-early start and we enjoyed a splendid cooked breakfast on the Monday. Her breakfasts are an excellent start to your day and I cannot recommend Hanwell House enough. Jan's homemade marmalade and lemon curd as well as the cookies which you will find in your room, were all delicious and just go to show her level of commitment to making your stay as lovely as possible. Nothing is too much trouble and they are both so welcoming that you really do feel as though you are staying with friends. Jan has arranged for her guests to receive a discount at the local Marston's pub and there is also a superb Indian restaurant - The Purple Mango within easy walking distance. Nigel has written some walking guides and we used the Banbury one to explore this interesting town. Thanks again Jan & Nigel for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Hanwell House for 4x lovely nights at this top notch accommodation for the Moto GP Weekend. Great location not just for Silverstone but for many local sights and attractions.,Jan and Nigel made us feel very welcome from start to finish. Jan's breakfast was fantastic a wide selection of local produce cooked as you like it and always with a smile. Nigel has some very interesting and well planned guides that he produced himself we found them very helpful. We would highly recommend Hanwell House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Hanwell House.The accommodation is first class, home from home, with Jan and Nigel most interesting and helpful hosts.I don't think anything would be too much trouble for Jan, she is always there to help when needed. The location is ideal for touring Banbury and surrounding area (Upton Hall, Broughton Castle etc).
Breakfast is pretty much bespoke, we opted for a delicious English breakfast but there are many choices to suit each individual.
Jan has an arrangement with the local pub (Hanwell Arms) by which you get 20% of your food bill when staying at Hanwell House.
The bathroom is well kitted out with toiletries, and I should mention that Jan places her home made cookies in each room.
Would highly recommend and will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanwell House

Address: 2 Lapsley Drive, Banbury OX16 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range: $108 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanwell House is a modern three-story bed and breakfast boasting character and charm, quietly situated to the north of Banbury, yet only minutes from the M40 (Jct 11). Jan and Nigel offer three attractive first floor rooms with private facilities, central heating, colour television, radio/alarm, hospitality tray and hairdryer. A varied breakfast menu is available from traditional full English to a light continental breakfast. Off-road parking is provided. Sorry, no pets or children under 11. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hanwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing