We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horse Box”
Review of Glamping Thorpe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glamping Thorpe
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horse Box”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in the horse box (would have stayed longer) in July 2013. Paul was really helpful getting us booked in and the whole family made us feel very welcome from start to finish. would definitely recommend a visit, the whole site has loads of character and privacy for each plot . The horse box has beautiful views, its spacious and great fun to stay in. Make sure you ask Paul for a tractor ride to see the views, with a beer! .....already planning our next trip.

Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcholmesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me & my friend stayed in the Horse box to break up our journey for a spa day the next day. It was fantastic. Paul was a legend. He took us and our glasses of champagne on a sunset tractor trip which was beautiful. Both fires were lit for us and kept us toasty all evening. It was an amazing experience which we can not fault at all. The compost toilet added to the experience and really wasnt as bad as it sounds. Amazing place to go and stay with amazing hosts. We will be back with family and friends in force. Thank you for a fantastic unique evening. x :o)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdblondii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and two children aged 10 and 15 have just come back from a 2 night stay at Glamping Thorpe. The converted Bedford Horse Lorry is great fun to stay in and it was surprisingly spacious, clean and well equipped. It has a lovely little multi fuel burner which kept us warm and cosy and Paul provided us with plenty of logs and smokeless fuel to keep us going.

We were also allowed to use the neighbouring field to play rounders and team games which meant we didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests. The accommodation is well placed to ensure privacy, although being 600 feet above sea level it can be windy. I would therefore recommend taking a couple of windbreaks, warm jackets and blankets to help stave off the cold if you are planning to sit out in the evenings.

Paul and Anna are very attentive and great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble including helping us source the material we needed to dig and build a fire pit which all added to the outdoors experience and helped keep us warm in the evenings. We would recommend the cooked breakfast and also the local pub whose food and welcome were equally good. All in all a great experience if a little chilly due to the windiness of the site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in May 2013. Having cycled all the way from Oxford we were warmly greeted by much needed cups of tea and hot showers!

Paul and Anna were super friendly, helpful and generally just lovely, jolly people. We had a great time.

We stayed in the Shepherds Hut which has the perfect view of a setting sun. The local pub was great, even better to get there in the back of a vintage tractor!

Fresh duck eggs for breakfast topped it all off. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubleH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for the bank holiday weekend 2013. Paul the owner is fantastically enthusiastic and a talented builder having created a great glamping selection of quirky accommodation. He's also very generous and fun with BBQ help, duck eggs and fun tractor rides to the local pub.
The shepherds hut was cosy and well stocked with everything you need. The toilet is a home made wigwam and the shower is a converted horse box which is fun. Each accommodation comes with its own, sometimes home made BBQ (a washing machine drum) and a gazebo.

The location is where Glamping Thorpe is let down. The area is very windy and quite bare unlike the beautiful rolling Cotswold hills and meadows I expected. The camping is in the farm's back garden which is a simple field and not very secluded. It would however be great to hire the three camps for a group/family party.

Strengths: A fun camping host and great local pub. Good amenities, cosy, tidy and clean.
To be improved: It lacks the "glamour" of other glamp spots. I've stayed in yurts of the same price with complimentary wine, chocolates, hand wash etc Average is quite harsh as we had a lovely time .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the converted horse box during the first May bank holiday. We had such a wonderful time. Paul was so attentive and made us feel very welcome and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Fresh duck eggs in the morning, a vintage tractor ride round the farm, glorious sunshine and fabulous scenery.

My 4 year old hasn't stopped talking about what a great time he had and how much he misses Lottie the dog.

Thank you Paul and Anna we had a lovely time and hope to see you again soon.

A place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernowbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
7.2 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
9.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
7.5 mi away
Great Western Arms
Great Western Arms
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hillside Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glamping Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glamping Thorpe

Property: Glamping Thorpe
Address: Banbury Road | Thorpe Mandeville, Banbury OX17 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Banbury
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing