We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkha Spice

Gurkha Spice
Ranked #66 of 191 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $65
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You will be delighted by the wonderful range of healthy foods on our extensive menu at the Gurkha Spice Restaurant in Banbury, Oxfordshire. We serve many curry, balti, biriyani and tandoori favourites but our menu also offers typical Nepalese specialities with their distinctive flavours and spices. Our dishes are healthier than most other Asian offerings, relying less on the extensive use of fats and more on chunky vegetables, lean meats, pickled dishes and salads.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice and spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went earlier this week and had a good meal. Going to Nepal later this month so was fun to talk to the guys about their country and food! We ordered two of the £15 meal deals and had to take most of it home because we were stuffed. Good value and nice to have something a little different to the standard curry houses in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdJWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a terrible experience from this place. We heard from friends about this place and read about it from the newspaper. We went one night for dinner, have to wait for more than 20 minutes to get our orders, waited another 20 minutes for the drinks and more time for our starter to arrive, and to our dismay, they gave us the the wrong starter, we let it go and decided to wait for the mains, Again, another long wait for the mains to arrive, this time, they gave us incomplete orders, no rice and wrong mains, by this time, my husband already walked out, I had spoken to I assume the manager or supervisor, and told him the situation and we just decided to take home the food, pay the bill and just leave, initially, he wanted to just give us a plastic bag to put the food in the bag ourselves, I declined. By the way, aside from the terrible service, the food we had we're all too salty. Overall, We would not come back here and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Himalayan spice and charming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Where to start, lot of authentic dishes from Nepal and India. Bottom point is quality and fresh spicy makes your taste buds awake. One of the best food ever had in banbury. Lamb sekuwa, himchuli khasi,naan bread best of the best.
Ganga and bohara deserve gold medal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramprasad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

It was be a great night.i was a really enjoyed to great food and fantastic service.specially fantastic starter lamb sekwao.keep it up,I will be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samboo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Run Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Four of us eat here over the August Bank Holiday Weekend. Really enjoyed the variety of interesting dishes and the quality of the food with fresh herbs and spices. The service was very attentive and helpful. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whygothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Spice also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Gurkha Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing