We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always made to feel very welcome”

The Duck on the Pond
Ranked #12 of 232 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A lovely country pub/restaurant with large gardens on the outskirts of South Newington village. Midway between Banbury and Chipping Norton. Well placed for country walks and visiting the Medieval Church. Serves local ales and home-cooked meals.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Already considered by me, by far the best presented beer in North Oxfordshire - never warm, always with the right head (tight bubbles created by sparklets). Food whether lunch time baguette or evening meal of the highest quality. Management and staff always very attentive, and nothing too much trouble. Well done EVERYONE

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fennyWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 450 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I had the most amazing Sunday roast on what was the hottest bank holiday weekend just gone! We sat in the garden! Staff, atmosphere and food as always couldn’t have been better! Would certainly highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ljoncider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

First visit to this pub with family. On requesting my drink at the Bar I mentioned that it had been up for sale last year, not knowing its still up for sale!! The arrogant barman who has No customer skills what so ever, immediately told me to be quiet!! You don't talk to customers in this way. The over friendly waitress tried to explain that they did not want their staff finding out. The pub food itself was good but was very cold in there.
Wont be returning due to unfriendly owners!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _penny0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Firstly the food, great! For me as a vegetarian it was great to have some choice. We chose from the specials menu and it was special. Great flavour, beautifully presented, perfect portion size.

The service was spot on too, really warm welcome from (I guess) the proprietor and her team were friendly and efficient.

As with many rural venues the atmosphere did seem to suffer from trying to retain local bar customers as well as the restaurant however this may have in part been because we were early and by the time we left had a good atmosphere.

The furnishing of the whole venue was really good except the toilets (why did they need sleazy pictures up?)

We had visited the area for a day out. The rest of the day wasn’t that great but we will now try and find an excuse to come back to the area just to dine here again!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank WyldeGreenJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Excellent lunch enjoyed by all . Friendly service, prompt attention.
No hesitation is recommending The Duck on the Pond

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duck on the Pond also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Culworth, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Duck on the Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing