We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“35th years yeaserday”

The Three Pigeons Inn
Ranked #13 of 193 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Settled in the heart of Banbury The Three Pigeons Inn has been at the very heart of the community since it first opened its doors back in the 17th Century. It has created so many memories for customers of all ages and taken its rightful place in the hearts and minds of the many residents both in the town and in the surrounding areas. The Three Pigeons Inn has being lovingly restored to its former glory and has now achieved it's first AA Rosette. It is now a free house with guest accommodation, with our main focus being our fabulous food. We offer modern English cuisine prepared freshly using locally sourced produce by our award winning Head Chef. Throughout its vast restoration project, and since opening, the motto at The Three Pigeons Inn has always been to do everything to the best of our ability, the end result speaks for itself. We have now passed that motto on to our team, whether it's a morning cappuccino next to one of our coal burners, or a three course meal in our Winter Garden, The Three Pigeons Inn will always deliver 10 out of 10. The Three Pigeons Inn is opening its wings to invite you into areas of the building previously hidden from sight. They are now being used to create a space for you to relax and enjoy the company of friends and family. What you will find in place of the old neglected lounge is a transformation to the extraordinary. The bar will be a central feature so that our friendly staff are never too far away. Three guest bedrooms have been added along with a new Kitchen and Beer cellar. The gardens have been landscaped and a function room has been built.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“35th years yeaserday”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

great food not a bit left on plate ,very frendly and helpful staff .,great service all evening would go again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank helen y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    128
    47
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Poor Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was recommend this pub, by a friend, who had recently eaten there. The pigeon starter, tasted of liver! The waitress even stated, after I complained, how bad the chef was. I was also ill the next morning. I paid for the meal and drinks in full. Never to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSB10, Owner at The Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Our Pigeon Starter has been on our menu for some time now and has been adapted for our spring menu. We use fresh wood pigeon sourced from a local Warwickshire farm and I agree the taste is a little surprising when you are unfamiliar with it! I can reassure you that it is not liver as our chef and manager discussed with you at the time. Our ethos at The Three Pigeons Inn is to use fresh quality produce at all times and all our food is prepared on site, even our fresh homemade bread is baked every morning. I have spoken to the staff on service when you visited us and our General Manager, Paul Berryman remembers serving you. We quality check all our food and are extremely pleased to have such a talented chef working for us.

Tina Laird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best sandwich ever!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time we have been to The Three Pigeons and felt the need to write a review!! This is the best sandwich ever!! My husband also shares my view. The service is good, it's lovely and clean and has friendly staff. We visited at a lunchtime but have also been for evening meal. Delicious, could be bit cheaper but couldn't they all! Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSB10, General Manager at The Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for writing such a positive review, since completing the renovation project of the Inn and its grounds the team has been focused on raising the quality, standards and the reputation of the Inn. Your review certainly suggests that we are heading in the right direction.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards

Paul Berryman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANBURY
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went on the spur of the moment and had a lovely Sunday Lunch, one beef, one lamb, both delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSB10, General Manager at The Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

I am so glad you had a lovely Sunday Lunch at The Three Pigeons Inn, thank you for sharing your experience. Our head chef has taken the time to explore the local area, and find the best available produce for the Inn. We source our meat and vegetables from local suppliers including a local farm shop based in Warwickshire. The majority of the meat is reared on the farm and the vegetables are all home grown, not only does this attest to the freshness of the ingredients, but in turn supports local farmers and suppliers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Three Pigeons Inn

Kind Regards

Paul Berryman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All Round Fantastic”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Returning to London from Birmingham, we decided to stop for a lunch in Banbury. Driving through we noticed the Three Pigeons and decided to stop there for a bite.

On walking in we were very impressed with the decor - it looks very clean and fresh (possibly recently rennovated) but has kept the character of this old building wonderfully.

The food was fantastic - I had Roast Beef (it was a Sunday!) and my girlfriends had Roat Lamb which she also really enjoyed.

The service was fast, efficient and friendly. Would definitely return here - maybe even for a weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraemeTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSB10, General Manager at The Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

I couldn’t ask for more from your review. Thank you very much. The Inn was lovingly restored and renovated last year and we have only been open for five months, so to receive such wonderful feedback really is a credit. We have a very dedicated team from our housekeeping department to our kitchen department, who all work incredibly hard to make The Three Pigeons Inn special – they are all naturally very pleased with your feedback.

I really look forward to welcoming you back to The Three Pigeons Inn. If you would like to book a weekend getaway and stay in one of our five star boutique rooms, please do call me directly so I can make arrangements for you.

Kind Regards

Paul Berryman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Pigeons Inn also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Three Pigeons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing