We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service under pressure”
Review of Ye Olde Reindeer

Ye Olde Reindeer
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 7/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #19 of 232 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Reine Deer Inn is the oldest public house in Banbury. Situated halfway down Parsons Street, in the town centre no visit to Banbury is complete without a visit to Ye Olde Reine Deer. A Hook Norton Brewery pub ensures the offering of mainstay Hooky beers and a seasonal guest, its even the breweries 'flagship' pub. The pub itself is over 400 years old and steeped in history and local folk law. The Globe room a hidden gem to the rear of the property used to be a common room for travelling gentry and is still clad in the original oak panelling, an incredible find and talking point. We serve food 12pm-3pm, 6pm-9pm Monday-Saturday and 2pm-3pm on Sunday. Ye Olde Reine Deer Inn has always had an impeccable reputation for great pub food and extremely well kept ale. We always aim to meet and exceed these very high standards.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

A busy pub on a Saturday night was our destination from our canal boat and we made a good choice.

Our waitress was under pressure because they were under staffed due to illness but she was superb and very attentive.

Fish and chips, scampi, California burgers and barbeque brisket all went down very well with local beers, explained in detail by our hostess.

Food was reasonably priced and a special mention for the desserts. Chocolate orange torte, Eton mess and an apple and plum crumble were good but very large.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank gremlin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 406 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

After many visits.From Oxford to Banbury.Discovered this hook norton ale pub.Nice atmosphere and very nice staff.Wonderful choice on both menus.Served quickly nice and fresh food.Loved my sausage in the basket.My friend requires a soft diet.They accommodated with an alternative.No problems at all.She had potato mash fried egg and beans.Was not on the menu sometimes venues do make a fuss.If you need to change for dietary purposes.Or other needs.Will make this pub a regular now.Fully recommend a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank martinj0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

We visited this lovely pub for a late lunch and were received by very friendly staff. The pub itself is warm and welcoming and what you would expect from an old English inn. The food was delicious! The crispiest jacket potato ice had in ages!
Would highly recommend a visit!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank clairbear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunch this weekend just gone as it seemed to be the only place still serving food after 3pm (they serve until 6pm), and what a great choice! Service was excellent, friendly and personable. Food arrived in good time and was superb, both the meat and veggies options were faultless. Great beers on tap here too so I have no doubt that we will be back soon. Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank doug86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Good place for a meal. Not the best spacing between tables and the waiting staff could benefit from some training but other than that the food is tasty and warm

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Reindeer also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Culworth, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Reindeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing