We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Reindeer

Ye Olde Reindeer
Reserve with OpenTable
Ye Olde Reindeer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 191 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ye Olde Reine Deer Inn is the oldest public house in Banbury. Situated halfway down Parsons Street, in the town centre no visit to Banbury is complete without a visit to Ye Olde Reine Deer. A Hook Norton Brewery pub ensures the offering of mainstay Hooky beers and a seasonal guest, its even the breweries 'flagship' pub. The pub itself is over 400 years old and steeped in history and local folk law. The Globe room a hidden gem to the rear of the property used to be a common room for travelling gentry and is still clad in the original oak panelling, an incredible find and talking point. We serve food 12pm-3pm, 6pm-9pm Monday-Saturday and 2pm-3pm on Sunday. Ye Olde Reine Deer Inn has always had an impeccable reputation for great pub food and extremely well kept ale. We always aim to meet and exceed these very high standards.
broadstairs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great value for money, really good menu, lots to choose from and good portion sizes. We were made to feel welcome and remembered from a previous visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    100
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miton Keynes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Three of us stopped here for a lunch yesterday. The food was very nice - and the beer excellent. Friendly staff. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RogWhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The noise was so loud we couldn't actually taste our food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our party of four wedged ourselves into a tight corner, then got pushed even tighter together by a table for four next to us being invaded by eight people, all drinking heavily and screaming with laughter. The food seemed okay, but we got through it as soon as possible so we could leave. It's not the bar's fault if its patrons lack manners, but we ended up with a very bad impression of this downtown pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“An atmospheric place with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We held our daughter's Naming Ceremony in the historic Globe Room followed by Sunday lunch. It's a beautiful room and the atmospheric setting really added to the occasion. The staff were friendly, ensuring everything ran smoothly on the day. The food was tasty too, and all the extra roast potatoes went down very well! Thanks to Anthony and staff for helping make it such a special day - we will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wonderful friendly staff, fabulous atmosphere leading to lots of interaction between people there which made for a very enjoyable evening. Excellent value for money and good quality food. Some speciality drinks were a real treat - I tried Black Beer and Rasin which I was allowed to sample first and it was fab. Great evening made by warm and friendly staff - I would highly recommend an evening here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank championj070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Reindeer also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Reindeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing