We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Museum - A Look Back into the Past”
Review of Banbury Museum

Banbury Museum
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Museum - A Look Back into the Past”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A great to spent a few hours after explorer the town and a walk along the canal. I learn much about the town, the canal and its history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank magellan_wm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good free and informative”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A Great one for the kiddies with lots of hands on for them, loved the costumes ect from all the films

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good history of the town”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The museum is relatively small, but free to visit. The upstairs part of the museum gives an excellent history of Banbury and is very well laid out. The downstairs area has celebrity memorobelia - it does not relate back to he town, but rather is a little like someone's personal souvenir collection - that said our young daughter found this more interesting that the history part of he museum. We also liked some of he hands on canal models, although unfortunately the on hat demonstrates hoe he locks operate no longer works.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little museum worth the time”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Boat building and canal travel was a staple of Banbury history. This wonderful museum right on the Oxford Canal in Banbury is terrific.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank duaner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Things to do in Banbury OXON”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

People who come to Banbury in summer miss a great asset the town has we have a great 50metre open air heated pool in Park road Banbury I grew up going to this pool it still is great to go to there is an Aqua slide for people to use also water sprays the smaller children to play in lifeguards patrol the pool it is a safe pool to use I have gone to this pool since I was eleven my grandson now goes as well many people in Banbury use the pool but you need to check the opening hours I took my first lifesaving exam at this pool and think it is great we have an indoor pool as well in Banbury but not as good as the outdoor pool. We have some nice churches as well St Mary's church is lovely inside as is St John's they are both in walking distance of Banbury Cross from the nursery rhyme Ride a cock horse to Banbury cross to see a fine lady on a white horse .We now have a statue close to the cross with a lady on a horse Banbury is a good base to stay if you wish to visit Warwick Castle Stratford Upon Avon Blenheim Palace to any visitor hope this is of help to you

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banbury Museum also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Banbury Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing