We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Purple Mango is better”
Review of Hanwell Arms

Hanwell Arms
Ranked #136 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Price range: $5 - $19
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Purple Mango is better”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are after beer and a cheap meal, the pub is OK but for a quieter and more sophisticated dining experience you are better off at the Indian restaurant across the road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahstubbings, Manager at Hanwell Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. You are more than welcome to contact me via emailing hanwellarms.banbury@marstons.co.uk. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    20
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Manager is a lovely lady at this Pub. The food is great at very good prices AND they do light bites for those that do not eat a big meal... This was our second visit and as it was Valentines Day, we were not sure what to expect, but it was PERFECT.....will definitely be going there again...hopefully soon..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahstubbings, Manager at Hanwell Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Food is good, especially for the price. Huge portions! My boyfriend and I enjoyed a quiet lunch here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChloeCoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahstubbings, Manager at Hanwell Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

What can I say other than really obnoxious staff. Never again. I have never come across such rude and arrogant bar staff, being new to the area I thought I'd found a constable local pub, really disappointed with the food, although my meal arrived in good time I was saddened to find that it was cheap, frozen products that looked like they had been thrown on the plate from a distance.

    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Lccl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnitaT616, Manager at Hanwell Arms, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. We have had a change in Management since your visit, and I would like to take the opportunity to show you how things have changed. Please feel free to contact me dirctly via email to discuss your visit, and the changes that have recently occoured.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“"Cod and chips in Oxfordshire"”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you visit Good Old England and you don't have a typical fish and chips then you don't know where you stand dear traveller. We asked for it and our local friends drove us for lunch time to Hanwell Arms in Banbury. The place set up is as it should be. The second impact for a foreigner is that customers are natives of all ages, which means that food quality is well accepted by tough audiences as grown up girls and boys. For beer I tried and stayed with Pedigree (why this name reminds me of my dog in Athens?) which is bitter enough for my taste and cold enough for my unforgiven Mediterranean origin, I am afraid..My lunch was cod fish with chips and more Pedigree to cool off. Just don't miss this place if your path passes through Banbury.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KONSTANTINOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahstubbings, Manager at Hanwell Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanwell Arms also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Hanwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing