We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whately Hall, Banbury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Although the hotel says it has lifts they are not easy to get to from Reception without a long hike up and down stairs and along corridors or through unlit/unused conference rooms. They are poorly marked but adequate once you have found them if a bit slow. Hotel Parking is by way of a very narrow approach under an archway at the side of the building but okay if you are lucky enough to get one of the parking bays under cover in the carport like area. The hotel is comfortable but the heating in the room was not adjustable and we found it a bit too warm for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2010

Thank you for your comments and I can only apologise for the hassle you encountered about trying to get to our lifts. This is a problem that i sadly can't change. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay at The Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury and we look forward to welcoming back on your next visit.
Kind regards
John Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 909 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BakersLoafing
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Fully satisfied with our visit to this hotel! Beautiful oldy worldy hotel right next to Banbury Cross!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
King regards
John Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The WHATELY HALL i found to be a very plesant ,clean ,and very well looked after , the staff work hard , the front of house are always willing to help with a very proffesional approch being curtious ,helpfull and always on hand to answer all queries. the old oak panels are all round and give a warm welcome , the bar has just had a full refurb very nice to the eye , the open fires are fantastic and are a very welcome sight on cold evenings, The two resturants are very well laid out and the food is good and very well presented,The rooms are very clean and warm with on suit beds are comfortable and of good size , so all in all i found my stay a very good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I will pass your comments onto my staff and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
John Armstrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This Hotel has a great feel..
Friendly reception, cannot do more for you and always with a smile
Good food, great breakfast buffet
Rooms = Good size\quality & clean and tidy

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2010

Thank you for your kind words and I will pass your comments onto my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel Banbury in the near future.
Kind regards
John Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

From the moment I walked in the service and help was excellent, the room I was given was spacious and elegant. I was very happy and would come here again if ever in Banbury.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KASM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury.
Kind Regards
John Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Whatley Hall last night and had a very comfortable evening. The service was exceptional, especially from Niti Puri who welcomed me with a smile and ensured I had a lovely stay throughout. The room was very large and spacious, tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable. I stay in many hotels as a result of my occupation; I will look forward to returning to Whatley Hall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2010

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. I have passed on your kind comments to Niti Puri and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind
regards
John Armstrong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $79 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing