We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want sleep don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“if you want sleep don't stay here”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

It seems like a nice hotel and the rooms are ok but the floor boards are so creaky it's a joke. You caa never get any sleep and are constantly woken up by people above or below you. Staff are friendly but i don't think i wouls stay here again as i didn;t get a moments peace

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    320
    201
    91
    42
See reviews for
100
416
42
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed in this hotel over the easter weekend as we wanted a base to explore cotswolds.
Banbury itself is a pleasant town with something for everyone.

The Hotel is in a good location with it own carpark which is accessed through a narrow passage way.
The lobby is very welcoming and the staff were very helpful.
The room was in the new wing of the hotel, which really could do with some serious TLC as looked very tired. There is a door connecting the rooms which although locked does mean that you can hear everything that is going on in the room next door. But we did have a lovely view of the gardens from our room.

The breakfast was each morning was excellent with option of cooked breakfast or cereals etc. And there was always plenty of it.

I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting somewhere for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Fantastic service by all the staff, especially Penny on reception. She offered us the choice between a historical room or modern room and we're glad that we chose the historical room - the exposed beams, low doorways and ambiance of the room was very romantic and felt more like a B&B than a hotel. Breakfast in the morning was one of the better buffets we've had at a Mecure Hotel and the sitting area with the bay windows was a lovely way to read the complimentary papers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Whately Hall is everything a hotel in the 1950s aspired to to be. But, It is 2010 and and it remains firmly in the 1950s. It is so so tired . Peeling wallpaper,floorboards creaking floorboards everywhere that either prevent sleep or wake you up. Room standards are not what they should be. Ancient TV, knobs falling off everywhere. The paintwork is appalling .A comfortable bed and the bathroom whilst small was reasonable. A few cracked floor tiles and a hot tap with a mind of its own. Staffing levels too low, breakfast passable, Evening meal, grim and for the most part bought in. I am really suprised that Mercure Hotel Group allow this state of affairs to continue , it is a poor reflection on the rest of their Group.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We just stayed at the hotel one night at this hotel and found it to be fairly average. However, it is reasonable value for money and the reception room had a nice fire in - very welcoming on a cold day in February.

The bedroom was a reasonable size and clean - we were only given one towel to share between us, but I think this was just a mistake and I'm sure they would have brought another one up if we'd asked. The hotel is a little shabby and could definitely do with a thorough painting.

My main problem was the noise that the pipes made in the early morning. It was almost impossible to sleep - and I am used to a lot of noise as I live in the middle of London!

If this hotel had a total makeover, it could be beautiful but until then it is a functional hotel which provides fair value for money. I would recommend it to someone who just wants a place to crash after a day out in Banbury.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Having booked a two night stay, 12th / 13th Feb specially for a romantic weekend, we can safely say we were not disappointed.

On arrival the hotel was so easy to find off the M40, and on approach the front was certainly impressive. We were greeted on reception in a very welcoming manner, something that seems to be impersonal in other hotels. Even though we arrived a couple of hours early, our room was ready and located in the newer part, and being on the 4th floor was overlooking the large impressive gardens.

The room (142) itself was massive, we later found out that there were only two rooms on this floor, so very private and felt almost like being in a penthouse!
The bed was probably the most comfortable I have sleep in, at any hotel, the living room area was comfortable with nice furnishings. The bathroom was larger than expected, with the usual array of toiletries, and cleaned to a high standard.

We had dinner on the friday, which we can only say " wow" ! Extremely attentive staff, food was of a high standard, good value for money and certainly satisfying. What confused us was the lack of other guests that night eating in the resturant, as surely with food of this standard it should have been fully booked twice over. After dinner we went to the bar, which was old worldy and the drinks good value for a hotel bar.

The nights sleep was wonderful, right up until being woken by room service delivering breakfast. Perhaps we had ordered too much, as it took two members of staff to deliver it!! Again the food was more than the usual standard for a hotel, perfect to wake up to!

We spent a lazy day in the town of banbury, before returning in the afternoon. The whole atmosphere is so relaxing and fantastic for de-stressing.

The saturday night meal in the restuarant was a set menu for valentines. What thought had been put into it. It was truely out of this world, with attentive service, friendly staff, there was nothing more we could have asked for. The chef is certainly deserving of at least one michealn star!

The next morning again room service breakfast woke us up, again the same high standard.

Sadly we had to checkout by noon, reception as every other staff member was efficient and polite.

We will certainly be returning in spring and summer, when the weather is warmer, and infact have already made reservations online via the hotels website for may 2010, and got a fantastic price for it!

Yes, there are are few areas of decor that need some tlc, but look beyond this, and see a stately hotel, in a great location, with staff that care, and the faults soon become minor.

We cant wait to return.....

C & A

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The hotel really looks nice from the outside but once you get in you will find the hotel needs some refurbishment. The floorboards creak everywhere anyone walks so take some earplugs. The hotel is right in the centre of town and not in the countryside as you would expect from the pretty exterior.

Banbury is not a very nice looking place but it is ideal for getting to Oxford by train. We also found it easy to drive to Leamington Spa & Stratford Upon Avon from the hotel. Banbury has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel also has a very small 2 screen Odeon next door. Free parking was a perk but the spaces are no good for big cars, it was a struggle squeezing in and out of the car doors!

Overal the hotel is okay for quick getaways, just dont expect anything special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperHans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing