We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved the Whately Hall!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the Whately Hall!”
Reviewed January 28, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Whately Hall several times now, and have always found it to be a lovely hotel. The service has always been very good, and the food excellent. We have often received a room upgrade, at no extra cost. As a regular traveller, the comfiest bed I ever slept in was here! We have been to many Macdonald hotels, and this one is a particular favourite. It is in a wonderful location, right on Banbury Cross, and is a great spot for access to Oxford and the Cotswolds. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we're off there again next weekend!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blonde Tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    316
    194
    90
    40
See reviews for
100
404
42
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

We had arranged a dinnerand accomodation locally with friends and were welcomed into the hotel by James, what a character! Our room was of the standard of a 4 star hotel not the 3 it claims to be and the dinner that evening warranted some kind of commendation we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flavourflav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2005

just retured from a cheapy special offer week end, well worth the money ,central location,great service and above avarage food.
all the staff went out of the way to make us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 23, 2004

We stayed in this hotel for two days in July 2004. The service was excellent, especially in the dining room where we hosted a dinner for 18 people. The dinner was planned for outdoors but the weather forced the event inside. It was amost enjoyable stay. The only criticism we had was some slight confusion on the part of a single receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 18, 2004

I was put in the hottest rooms it's been my displeasure to find for some time. The next morning reception said 'oh yes ... they're alway too hot'. No breakfast as the kitchen staff completely incompetent / disorganised. Everything else just had that air of totally unmerited above-itself-ness that too many UK hotels have. The clientelle seemed mostly, like me, one night stop business people - it is not the grand country manor it would like to be, doesn't have the basic service one expects and should sharpen up.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2004

I stayed at this hotel about three years ago and was very impressed with the building, the grounds, the food and the service. On the strenth of this I invited friends to join me for dinner and an overnight stay recently. What a disappointment! The service was atrocious right from the start with nobody on reception for ages (ditto later the bar), when we were booked in we were allocated the wrong rooms resulting in numerous trips up and down stairs with luggage. The bar ran out of our preferred drinks after the first round. The food was mediocre, the service dreadful, verging on the rude, and after half-an-hour we tired of waiting for someone to take our orders for pudding and coffee. The hotel no longer seems to be Heritage but is now Macdonalds. A sad waste of potential.

Helpful?
2 Thank richardh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2004

I was very surprised to see the review dated March 2004 entitled "bad food" as my family and I had a wonderful lunch in the non-smoking lounge in March 2004 and we really enjoyed it and thought it was excellent value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing