We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$111
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Uplands House(Banbury)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
247
358
223
96
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
358
223
96
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parknarrow entrancemurder mysteryold buildingnewer partreception staffcentral locationexecutive roomcreaky floorboardshotel is lovelychurch bellsoverlooking the gardeneggs benedictan upgradewedding receptionpubs and restaurantslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 970 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Executive rooms were very big with extra large bed loverly modern bathroom or even lounge room with separate bedroom very clean for such a old building. The murder evening was brilliant with the killing game and good food and lots of fun
Breakfast the next morning was excellent . The staff were pleasant
Bar and drinks a little expensive.
The hotel is on Banbury cross short walk to shops about 20 mins from oxford . Free car park at rest

Would stop here again definitely

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank WestMidlandsSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay here with us on the Murder Mystery Weekend held here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed not only your accommodation and meals but the entertainment also. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you again to our hotel.

Once again many thanks

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

On the 2nd of May we had a 70th birthday party, which was absolutly fantastic. The food was excellent, the way the room was decorated was also excellent with co-ordinating colours.
We would like to say many thanks to Charlie and his team for their service and constant attention to the guests.
We would also like to say thank you to James who kept us entertained and was also very attentive.
Everybody had a wonderful time including all the family and friends - all the feedback from them have been nothing but excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you ever so much for your very kind comments following the birthday party you held here at Mercure Whatley Hall. I am so glad that you all enjoyed the food so much and in particular thankyou very much for you postive review of Charlie and the team, they are definetly a huge asset to us.

Once again many thanks and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have recently had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. All staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpfull. We had very last minute booking that was sorted out by the rooms devision manger - Atilla, whom we are very thankfull for. The hotel has a perfect location with a secure parking. Rooms are very spacious, individually stylish and clean with a beautiful views to a lovely garded. Would definately recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Banbury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sannddrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for you lovely review following your recent stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I very happy to read that Atilla was so helpful in sorting out your last minute booking and that you enjoyed the hotel and our location so much.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you again and thank you for recommendation to others

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed 1 night here, in a lovely double front facing room. The hotel itself is a lovely old building with beautiful gardens to the rear. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff were welcoming and efficient. Some people have mentioned access to the parking area if you have a large car. We managed to park a Range Rover with little difficulty, though did retract the wing mirrors. I was happy with the price , accommodation and location, and would heartily recommend you consider this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggiesboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guests,

I am very happy to read your review and see your 5 out of 5 score following your stay with us.
It is always great to hear such lovely comments about the team working here and I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed your accommodation. Also that in such a large car you were able to enter our car park, although narrow you can actually get all cars and even some vans in although slow and steady is advised !!

Once gain thank you for your comments and recommendations to others and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews