We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Staff excellent. Hotel could use a lick of paint but didn't spoil anything. Beautiful old building and gardens. Worth an upgrade to a superior room with a massive bed and view of the gardens. Fantastic breakfast best service I've ever had. Good location near restaurants and shops.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank evwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, especially about the staff we have here, thank you very much. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast. I do hope you will choose to come and stay with us again and hopefully you will see an improvement in the decoration of the hotel.

Once again many thanks

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    311
    192
    90
    40
See reviews for
97
396
42
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

If like me you make the mistake of thinking that the Mercure brand means this will be a reasonably nice hotel then you'll need to think again. In short, this hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment. Some may say it has character (including Mercure I would assume) but I would say it needs money spending on it.
The room was small, the en suite bathroom was tiny and the décor was very tatty and outdated throughout.
The shower can be considered amazing as long as you are happy with a number of tiny and frankly pathetic sprays that go in all directions except on the main target of a shower i.e. the individual stood under it.
The cost of the room was expensive especially considering the above and I would surmise that Mercure are taking full advantage of the fact that there are very few hotels in Banbury when setting the room rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I was very disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. I understand your feedback regarding refurbishment, please note that half our bedrooms already refurbished and there is another refurbishment plan in place for 2014. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Regarding bedroom prices, we constantly analyse the market like other hotels in the area; naturally in case the demand is high the rates can be higher than in low demanding periods. I hope you will give us another chance at your next visit in Banbury.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in February. I called reception to make the booking and was told confirmation would be sent. Still hadn't relieved confirmation so called and asked for it again - 3 calls later I finally got confirmation. I spoke to a lady called Olivia who sent this confirmation and was very helpful - we upgraded our room and she provided the information we requested - a shame we had to request it so many times. We booked for dinner for the Saturday only to be told on arrival they were not serving food on the Saturday due to a function so their guests had to eat elsewhere which I felt a little odd? My husband and I went for breakfast and I had finished a bit before him and my plate was whisked away whilst he was still eating which I find very rude. The bedroom was very spacious and very clean! Credit to the housekeepers!! Overall an ok stay but staff overall could be a lot more helpful and welcoming

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippyaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback after your stay at Mercure Whately Hall in Banbury. I am happy to read that your overall stay was good, on the other hand I do apologies for mistakes during your breakfast. Please rest assured that the necessary actions are already in place to avoid similar complaints. I appreciate your kind comments on cleanliness. I hope we can welcome you back in our hotel to provide a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I loved this hotel - beautiful old building with the creaky floorboards and bags of character. The staff were helpful and efficient throughout the hotel and dinner and breakfast were great. I stayed overnight for business and was happy.

Room Tip: No lift but then I enjoyed the creaky staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind comments and I really appreciate your high scores. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback especially on hotel staff. I am sure your comments will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed the traditional character of the hotel.
Thank you for your booking and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Barton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel Booked because it had parking. Unfortunately there needs to be something mentioned about the parking!

1.) If you own a large car, then you will struggle to park due to width limitations - this issue is not mentioned on any sites including the hotel website - so beware!

2.) Had to pay for own parking although not excessive £3.50 long stay Saturday and £1.00 all day Sunday the hotel could have refunded as they are fully aware of the issue. The gentleman on reception when we arrived did not have a clue where to park, luckily a local man came to our rescue.

Shower facilities in our room 141 for Saturday night was pathetic there is no water pressure so if you like a drip shower then this is for you.

Please ensure you prepay for breakfast which was very good will save you a fiver a head of the walk up price.

Finally would I stay here again - NO, but I would go back for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 141 or 142 are on the top floor they are a very long way from reception and the lift is not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTH1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I was disappointed to read that a parking issue caused a sorrowful bad experience during your stay. Thank you for pointing out the water pressure problem as well.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apoligies and rest assured that we have taken a good note of your comments as they offer us a valuable opportunity to monitor and continually improve our facilities and services.
Regarding your room tip I agree these bedrooms are far from reception but I have to add that room 142 is one of our largest suite with a spacious lounge area and with a breathtaking view overlooking to our beautifully manicured garden. I appreciate your kind comments on our breakfast and truly hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back in our Mercure Whatley Hall Hotel.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for two night. The first night was fine and breakfast was a buffet was good but the second night was terrible. There was a party on and it was like it was in our room.

The music went on after midnight filled by talking/shouting for another hour.

Why were we placed in a room when they had a party?

Ask in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the community of TripAdvisor readers as well. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our traditional full English breakfast. In regards to the noise from the birthday party we do our best to allocate party guests close to the event, however at full occupancy periods this is not always possible due to specific room type bookings and requests. Nevertheless please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing