We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Banbury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
“Central Banbury”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent location within easy walking of town centre and shops. Executive Room was well decorated, clean and warm. Lighting a little dim, could do with improving and lacked a fridge. Staff very helpful. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review following your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. It is always great to read such comments. I note your thoughts on the lighting and will see what we can do about this.

Once again many thanks and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    320
    201
    92
    42
See reviews for
100
416
42
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the old part but I hope the newer part is better. Our bedroom was good although a little shabby. No safe was a bit of a problem. Plenty of storage space.
Bathroom was small and very shabby. Most floor tiles were cracked, the taps seemed to spit air and water at first and definitely need updating. The toilet needed to be pumped to flush. The towel rail had a warning that it can be very hot, oh how I wish, it was freezing cold which meant the bathroom was also cold. Only one big towel and one small one for two of us!
The corridors had cheap worn carpet.
It is a bit up and down stairs if you come in from the car park so you need to be fit enough to haul your suitcases. The car park has a barrier and you need a code from reception to get out, or, you can simply press the button on the opposite side!
Having said all that the staff were excellent and free wifi worked well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us, whilst we do not have safes in any of our rooms we are always happy to store any valuables in our main safe at reception. I note your comments about the bathroom facilities and will get these addressed by our engineer. For towels there is a spare set located in the wardrobe of each room and we are always happy to supply more towels on request as well. I am sorry that no one offered to help with your luggage as the rooms in the origional part of the hotel do have a number of stairs and steps. I really appreciate your kind words about our team and that our investement in a high speed WIFI system is appreciated.

Once again many thanks for your comments and I do hope that you will give us the oppotunity to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went on a quiet Sunday in January. Room (No 33) consisted of a number of interconnecting rooms and was overall spacious. Lovely, historic hotel. The staff were lovely and one insisted (rightly) on showing me the hidden tunnels running off one of the panelled rooms. I highly recommend the hotel. Apparently room 52 is haunted.

Room Tip: 33 a great room - but is on main road (albeit it is quiet at night and there is double glazing howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay with us recently, I am very pleased to read that you found the accommodation and especially the team so good and you got to see some our historic features.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel New Years Eve 2013 as part of a murder mystery evening we had booked. There were 11 of us in our party.

On arrival we parked in the secure parking and checked in, we were early and our rooms were unavailable but the guy behind the reception took our bags for us as we went for lunch.

After lunch we came back and checked it, which was very easy and the young guy was very helpful.

Our room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was a little dated.

We had a three course meal as part of the murder mystery which was very nice, all our food came out at once and was hot.

The breakfast was fantastic, lots of hot and fresh bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, mushrooms and hash browns. There was cereal, bread, ham and cheese available, along with fresh fruit juices.

Check out was very easy.

Overall a really lovely, old fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate you taking time to post your positive thoughts after your stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel for New Years Eve. I am so pleased that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your accommodation and of course the meals you took with us. We are hoping that we will be able to refurbish some of our bathrooms during the course of the year so if you choose to stay with us in the future you will see an improvement.

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Whately Hall as part of a NYE package with "The Killing Game", a Murder Mystery Event. The hotel is situated in the middle of Banbury (near the Cross) and has a historic past. We had a room at the front of the hotel in the old part, which was a little jaded but quite pleasant. Nice 3 course dinner and a good cooked breakfast buffet on New Years Day. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Car parking was ok at the back, but there is also a big Pay and Display Car Park at the front of the hotel too. Overall we were impressed.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are in the older more historic part of the hotel if you like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comments after yor stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel on New Years Eve. I am so pleased to read your positive review and I will be sure to pass on your comments about the team to them. I note your comments about the jaded room and these rooms wil be refurbished duringt he course of the year.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve as part of a murder mystery evening arranged by an outside company.
Deluxe room was old but ok with separate sitting and bedrooms areas.
No hot water to get ready for our evening and luke warm water or a shower in the morning.
No room safe so concerned about everyday high value items having to be hidden in the room iPad etc. whilst we were at the dinner.
Quite noisy with doors slamming when everyone is going in and out of rooms.
Carpets in corridors were quite dirty looking.
Hotel has a car park but only if you are a confident driver or have a small car as entrance is through quite a narrow entrance with a turn.

Room Tip: don't choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments follwoing your stay here with us at New Year. I am very sorry that there was insuffiecient hot water this was due to the high volume of guests getting ready at the same time and is not normally a problem here but I appreciate how it affected you. Some of our rooms are darker than others due to the age and nature of the building and we will be addressing this in the ongoing refurbishment schedule. Whilst we do not have safes in any of our rooms we would have been happy to strore any items in our main safe at Reception. I will ask our maintainence team to look at the door closers to see if noise can be reduced Our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis but due to pattern and light shadows I understand that they can look dirty but they aren't. I know that the car park entrance is narrow but to date we haven't has a car that can't get in although as you say with some larger vehicles caution is needed.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and once again my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would be grateful if you could contact myself or Rooms Division Manager if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights (room 52); night before my wedding on my own & second one with my brand new husband. The service given & attention to detail was faultless. All staff (catering, events and reception) were fabulous & all went out of their way to ensure everything about our stay & wedding reception went smoothly. The only slight niggle was that (perhaps because 1st night there was only me) despite asking hospitality, there was only one set of towels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolynRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Mercure Whately Hall Hotel for such a beautiful and memorable event and also we really are pleased that we could be a part of such a life long experience. It is good to read that you were satisfied with our services. I will share your comments with our team.
We wish you all the best. You and your friends are always welcome!

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing